Retaining Moisture: The LOC Method [Liquid.Oil.Cream]

Even though this is my third time natural, and I have done limitless research online, there are still natural hair terminologies that, although I recognize them, I just can’t remember the process of! Like the LOC Method, for example. I had read about this what feels like centuries ago but could not remember the details; so I looked it up again.

The LOC Method is a three-step process used to retain moisture in our natural hair without the need to reapply moisture every day. It is simple and it is effective.

Because everyone and their momma have written about this I am simply going to edit an article I found on Natural Hair Rules explaining the LOC Method in great details so that it reflects what I do to my hair.

LOC Method

Original Article by Natural Hair Rules

As a natural, you know the importance of moisturizing your hair and KEEPING it moisturized. Our goal as naturals is to avoid breakage while retaining as much length as possible. Many curlies achieve this by re-moisturizing in between washes and co-washes. However, the LOC Method is another way to moisturize your hair and KEEP it moisturized in between washes without re-moisturizing or applying any more product.

Step 1: Liquid

The first step is to cleanse the hair or spray dry hair with a water bottle. Natural hair is easiest to manipulate when it is wet so adding liquid to the hair is mandatory when you begin. For best results apply the LOC Method on freshly shampooed hair.

Obviously water is the best liquid you can use for your hair during the LOC Method. However, I like to use my DIY Hair Mist made up of water, a little bit of Giovanni direct leave-In conditioner, a wee bit of jojoba oil, a squirt of vegetable glycerin and a few drops of tea tree oil.

You can also add a leave-in conditioner to your hair after your liquid. Right now, I am using Cantu Shea Moisture leave-in conditioner.

Step 2: Oil

The second step is to apply oil – this seals in the liquid/moisture. Oils should only be applied to wet hair. If your hair is not wet, the oil will sit on top of the hair and it won’t penetrate the hair shaft. Avocado, coconut, argan, extra virgin olive, jojoba and grape seed are all wonderful oils. You can use them alone or create your own mixture. Jojoba oil is the best because it mimics sebum which is the oil our hair and skin naturally produces.

Personally, I love BoboShanti’s coconut oil (Antigua). It is the best locally produced coconut oil I have come across. I prefer coconut oil because it is light and absorbs easily and does not weigh my hair down. I also use jojoba oil some times as well.

The oil you use may vary from season to season for those outside Antigua/Caribbean (where we basically have one season – its called HOT!). During the winter since it is much colder you can use castor oil for sealing. It is great for moisture retention, as it is a heavier oil, which helps with growth. During the warm months you can reach for the lighter oils.

Tip: if you suffer from dry, itchy and/or flaky scalp tea tree oil will help soothe it.

Step 3: Cream

Applying your cream is the final step. Your cream should be selected according to the type of style you want to achieve. Some naturals substitute their cream with a styling product like gel or mousse during this step.

The trick to choosing a good cream is to learn what your hair likes. I am presently using the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie and my hair is in love with it. Baby soft hair all day! I wake up and my hair is so soft its amazing!

Others may prefer thick creams and shea butter especially during the winter months.

Steps 2 and 3 can be performed interchangeably but the traditional Method works just fine.

Refresher

My hair does retain moisture using this process but depending on how I style my hair, I some times need a little refresher. That is, I don’t need to go through this entire process all over again but simply add a wee bit of moisture to it. When this is the case, I use my Taliah Waajid Protective Mist Bodifier and that does the trick.

**Quick Tips

Recently, a sista in the natural hair group I’m a part of on FB mentioned that she has been using the LOC Method yet her hair still tends to go dry. What my thought process on that is,  if you’re not using the right product then you can still be losing moisture. Water is water so moisturizing is fool proof. Be sure to use a leave-in condish  esp if you know your hair needs it. Choosing the right oil for the weather is important. You definitely want to use heavy oils in the colder months or if your hair is really thick. And the type of cream you choose will also play an important part. I swear by Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie but there are also many more great creams out there. If you try this method and it isn’t working, simply change one of the products until you find what works for your hair. The method definitely works. Its up to you to find that mix that resonates with your hair 🙂

Have you used this method to seal in moisture in your hair? If so, please share your hair story!

3 Comments

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

