TWA Style #2 – Sponge Twists

I woke up, hauntedly, at 4:00 am one morning and was looking at random tutorials on YouTube. Going from video to video I came across a few featuring a product called ‘Nudred‘ which is basically a sponge with holes cut into it used to start dreds or for someone just wanting to style their TWA, adding a really nice texture to their afro. Now, I have always loved texture in my hair so I would use my hand to get this same effect by spinning them in a circular motion over my hair. But my curls were always a little rough looking, like I was tangling my hair. But that was the only way I knew how to get the texture I desired. THANK GOD FOR YouTube!

So, my fellow sistas who are in the freshly BC stage or rocking a TWA, here’s one for the styling books which is super easy and great fun!

Spongetwists2

So you know there is always a DIY to almost every product on the market, and this is no exception. The Nudred sponge sells for US$25.00 or with the ‘Nu Potion’ cream, US$34.99. So, YouTuber’s have gone ahead and purchased a regular sponge, be it for dish washing, bathing or the nice big yellow ones used to clean cars, and have cut the little circular holes into it and used that to get the same effect as the original product. Can you say super cool? Some have even just purchased a bath sponge that already had a lot of holes and simply used that to get the desired texture in their hair. The only thing you have to be mindful of is to go in only one direction, otherwise you’d simply be undoing your twists 🙂

nudredThis style is recommended for hair up to 2″ long but it also works on longer hair to give it a “rough” textured afro as seen in this YouTube Video. It is also best on coarse hair. Because I used a texturizer then bleached and colored my hair, my hair texture is no longer coarse and therefore I do not get the twists shown in the Youtube Videos I have listed below. But it does give me the texture I love in my hair without the ‘tangled’ look/feel I usually get when doing with my hands.

Here’s how this works:

  1. You’ll first need a sponge. The most popular ones are the bright yellow ones used to wash cars
  2. Cut out circles in the sponge to desired size. You can mimic what you see in the Videos below
  3. This style works best on hair that is only slightly damp. Apply a twist and loc gel or your regular styling gel to your slightly damp hair.
  4. You can apply some of your styling product to the sponge as well
  5. Use sponge and go in a circular motion across your head. Do not press heavily on the hair. Spin in one direction only.
  6. Within minutes, you’ll have a head of perfectly formed twists!

Here are the best Videos I have found on Youtube doing this style. Do enjoy xx

Sponge twists using Nudred original product: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiZDaKTgx1I

Nudred on longer hair: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWZkibzYlt4

Sponge twists using homemade sponge (How to make sponge included): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h05okD0hAe0

Sponge coils using ‘holey’ bath sponge: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeKFYe5UWds

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for this post! I used to be a supporter of buying the authentic Nudred as I try to support Black businesses, but the price is now up to 35.99 for just the sponge and an additional 9.99 for shipping- as if a sponge is heavy enough to warrant such a fee…disgusting

    1. Oh wow! I would have supported if I was living in the States but the shipping and custom duties would have been too much! Happy you enjoy the post. Happy sponging 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

