DIY: Daily Hair Moisture Mist

I’ve been trying to figure out why my hair isn’t growing at the rate that I believe it should be (based on past experiences) and I am thinking it could be my lack of using aloe vera as part of my hair care regimen. Not to mention the many times I have colored my hair!!! The last time I returned natural, I incorporated quite a bit of aloe vera juice and gel as part of my daily regimen and I remember how much my hair grew (by my standards! Remember I have a slow growth rate).

To this end, I have decided to pick up a bottle of aloe vera juice this weekend and get back with it. One of the main ways I used aloe vera in my hair was through my DIY Daily Hair Mist. My hair usually requires moisture daily, depending on how it is styled, so it is great to be able to whip up my own concoction as needed. Here is how I make mine:

What You Need:

  • 3 oz distilled water
  • 3 oz aloe vera juice
  • 1 oz vegetable glycerin
  • 1 Tbsp carrier oil of choice (I usually use a mix of coconut/olive/jojoba/castor oils)
  • 1 Tbsp leave-in conditioner of choice
  • Few drops of tea tree oil
  • Squeeze of 1 lime *optional
  • Spray bottle

Simply fill your spray bottle with all the ingredients and shake together. Refrigerate after use. (Remove from refrigerator a few minutes before use so that it gets a chance to cool before you spray your hair – unless you like the cold sensation *-*)

Aloe vera juice has a short shelf life if not refrigerated so making a small batch would be ideal if you do not want to refrigerate it.

pic-collage_1
Our line of tees are now available! Click to shop Black Zulu Apparel

Here’s the purpose of the ingredients you may be questioning:

Aloe Vera Juice – acts as a natural conditioning agent that restores the hair’s sheen, luster, and shine. It not only makes the hair soft, but it also enhances strength and suppleness. It naturally combats frizz but does not have a greasy buildup. The natural enzymes found in aloe vera can soothe and moisturize the scalp, helping to eliminate the scaly dryness that causes dandruff. It also helps to increase blood circulation in the scalp, which works to stimulate the production of moisturizing oils. It keeps the hair’s natural oils in balance to prevent excessively oily or dry scalp.

Vegetable Glycerin – has strong humectants properties; meaning it is able to retain moisture. As a product that draws moisture from the air, it makes for a great moisturizer! It helps to soften the hair follicles, allowing moisture to enter into the hair shaft.

Lime juice – removes hair odors, naturally cleanses the hair and scalp and prevents dandruff.

I have been making my own moisture mist that I honestly do not measure any more. I found a video I made when I first started making this mix. The quantities were a lot more but I no longer make that much in one go 🙂

pic-collage_1
Our line of tees are now available! Click to shop Black Zulu Apparel
11 Comments

    1. Use whenever you style your hair. Because it contains aloe Vera juice, it requires refrigeration and therefore is not ideal for walking around with all Day. Just be sure you are sealing your moisture with an oil or butter to help keep your hair moisturized throughout the Day. If you require refreshing during the day, skip the aloe Vera juice and take it wherever you go and refresh as needed. Enjoy!

    1. This is PERFECT for braids! There is nothing more important than keeping your natural hair properly moisturized while braided. Do remember to not just mist the roots but along the braid up to where you’r nieces’ hair ends. Moisturize as often as you would their regular hair and don’t forget to apply oil / their regular hair pomade to the scalp at least once a week.
      Enjoy!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

