DIY: Protein Hair Masque

Protein Masque Image

I’ve been longing to try a protein treatment but have never went hunting for a good store bought one. I just removed some marley braids after exactly 4# weeks so I figured, why not take the leap and crack that egg open?! And that’s exactly what I did when I mixed an easy protein hair mask I found around the web this weekend.

When you mix this mask, you’ll use the whole egg – yolk and all.  The yolk is where all the magic is because it strengthens hair follicles and prevents hair loss. Other nutrients include vitamin A which prevents breakage, vitamin B12 for hair growth and other fatty acids that give hair that natural shine. The yolk is naturally moisturizing, while the white, which contains bacteria-eating enzymes, removes unwanted oils.

Naturally curly hair relies on a balance of proteins, nutrients, and oils to support healthy roots. Your hair is approximately 91 percent protein, and is made up of long chains of amino acids. Harsh chemical treatments, exposure to sun, pollution and lack of proper care can lead to the breaking up of these chains resulting in brittle and dull hair. Since the hair is made up of protein it would only make sense to treat your hair with protein.

I had dyed my hair a chocolate brown color just before I put in the braids so they are in desperate need of some TLC! My hair feels a bit on the limp side after the color treatment so I will have to doctor it back to life.

The Recipe

  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup cheap conditioner *for added moisture and consistency
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp of oil  *any oil will do so pick your favorite kind

Direction:

  1. Beat the egg in a bowl before adding the rest of the ingredients. Whisk together until smooth.
  2. Apply to hair from root to tip.
  3. Let sit for 25 – 30 minutes.
  4. Rinse with cool water.

DIY Protein Masque

After mixing this baby up, I learnt a few valuable lessons:

  1. Use a conditioner with a thick consistency! The thicker the conditioner, the thicker the mixture.
  2. You can pour the mixture into a pointed tip bottle for easier application
  3. DO NOT over saturate  your hair with the mixture as that leads to dripping down the sides of your face and the back of your neck!
  4. For short hair like mine, I would recommend using only half of the beaten egg before adding the rest ingredients. I ended up with 5 oz of the mix and used just about 3 oz….which dripped like mad. At one point, I had to press a towel against my hair to try and remove some of the mixture *sigh*

I followed up my protein treatment with a moisturizing deep conditioner using Motions Deep Conditioning Masque.

I don’t see me doing this treatment more than once a month or every 6 weeks…and I plan to find another recipe that has a thicker consistency; perhaps using only the egg yolk!

2 thoughts on “DIY: Protein Hair Masque

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

