Kinky TRESSES: Meet Diana Remy

In this week’s Kinky TRESSES: we meet the beautiful Diana aka Didi who gives us the low-down on all things natural hair.

019-Didi
Diana Remy

Tell us a bit about yourself and the life of your hair before going natural.

My name is Diana Remy from Antigua but living in St. Lucia. Before going natural…and I think in some ways now, I lived by the rule that your hair is an accessory. So I’ve done almost everything to my hair. That included relaxers, bleaching, texturizing, cutting it all off. You name, I may have done it. During my final relaxer, my hair was getting too much for me to maintain; especially on wash days. As a result, I really didn’t care much about it. So you can imagine that it started suffering. Then I started seeing all those beautiful naturals on YouTube and the routine they followed in keeping their hair healthy. That was an eye opener and an inspiration for me.

How long have you been natural?

017-Didi1 year and ten months post relaxer; and 1 year and six months post BC

Did you go through a transition period or did you big chop immediately? How was that process?

I tried transitioning. That only lasted for 4 months 😀 I guess I was too excited to see my natural hair in all its glory, and I really couldn’t see results from using different products in my hair. During my transition, one of my go-to styles was the crimp look. So I would braid my hair every night with rollers on the ends of those braids, and loose it out in the morning. That really helped to disguise my two textures. And during that time I started cutting it, which gave me a nice crimp bob. Then one day I sat in front of the mirror, with a scissors in my hand, intending to only cut just a lock to see what it would look like, lol.  Before I knew it, my scissors happy hand had snipped off all the relaxed ends and I was sitting there looking in the mirror with a big happy grin on my face 😀

Kinky? Curly? Coily? How would you describe your hair?

Its Kinky-curly. My hair is really curly in the back, kinky in some areas in the centre and loosely curled in front. Haha! I know! It’s an ethnic melting pot on this head.

056-Didi

Have you encountered any negativity because of your decision to return natural?

Well my husband and immediate family were really supportive of it, but not so much others. I got the usual, “I would love to go natural but I don’t have the ‘good’ hair’. And some just didn’t understand why I chose to wear my hair in some styles. I even got the “wah happen to your head now?” or “you don’t have a comb in your house?”

What was frustrating was the fact that women criticized and turned up their noses, while men loved it and even encouraged it.

Tell us the good stuff! How has returning natural positively impacted you?

Well, I started not only being focused on my hair, but my over-all health. I also live by the rule “healthy body equals healthy skin and hair”. So I watch what I eat, take supplements, drink lots of water, and of course, watch what I put in my hair. Loving my natural hair has inspired me to love me and to work with what makes me me. You know, my “perfect imperfection”. Lol.

Are you a product junkie or do you follow KISS (Keep It Simple Sista)? What are your “holy grail” products for your natural hair?

I am a little bit of both. I love trying out new things to see what else I can add to my regimen. But I keep it simple most times with my “holy grail”- my whipped shea butter mix, coconut oil, carrot oil, and right now I’m using the Hello Hydration Coconut Conditoner from Herbal Essence.

What is your current hair regimen?

Well I recently up-dated this and I really love the results: I rinse my loosed tresses with warm water while rubbing my scalp. This is to get rid of the current build up of products and to open the hair follicles. Then I pat dry to keep in some of that moisture. I then part my hair in sections. First, with my current conditioner, I apply a small amount from the ends to the roots, detangling as I go. The second amount I apply it to the length of my hair, making sure that the strands are coated. I apply a third amount for good measure making sure its fully detangled. Finally, I add my oil mix to the section, twist it and repeat. Sometimes I leave it on for 15 minutes to an hr. In the shower, I moisten with warm water, I make sure that my scalp is clean. Then, I rub the section of hair between the palms of my hand in a downward motion from roots to ends. (like starting fire with wood motion). Rinse with warm water, seal with my oil mix and rinse excess oil with cold water to close follicles. Twist section and repeat. I twist it or style with my current hair product

Do you have a mixologist diva taking refuge inside you? Share your favorite DIY recipe!

012Definitely my shea butter mix along with my oil mix.

DIY Whipped Shea Butter

  • Semi melted shea butter
  • Coconut oil
  • Carrot oil
  • A scent of my choice

Whip till its nice and fluffy.

DIY Oil Mix

I use one of those large applicator bottles and I add my coconut oil, carrot oil, olive oil and I top it off with some jojoba oil. Give it a shake and your oil goodness is ready. This is good for sealing your ends and applying to your skin after you shower. And with the applicator, you get the right amount every time.

What has been the biggest mistake you’ve made with your hair?

I can’t seem to keep my hands out of my hair lol. That has always been my comfort since I was little. But my hair is suffering somewhat because of that. It gets tangled quickly. And you can imagine once my fingers feel one of those single strand knots what it does to them. I usually just snag them right off! that causes damage to the tresses in the long run. I’m working hard on that though 🙂

Everyone has it! What is your “go to” style?

I love love love twist outs. Especially the big fluffy types. I dabble in the occasional mini twists and up dos but I like my hair wild and free so it’s usually twist outs.

Got any words of wisdom for anyone contemplating returning natural or who has just started their journey?

Experiment and do your research. What works for someone might not work for you. And it’s a rule that what doesn’t work for your body wouldn’t work for your hair. For example, if you have a reaction to peanuts then peanut oil wouldn’t be good for your hair. So if you find that your skin do not like olive oil or jojoba oil, then generally your hair wouldn’t like it either. HAPPY JOURNEY!

You can find Diana on Facebook following other Naturalistas in the group Natural Soul Sistas. There, she shares her journey in pics as well as occasional tips and advice about taking care of your natural hair. So if you are in Antigua and want a local natural hair community to join, swing on by the page and join the group!

Thank you so much Diana for taking the time to chat with me. It is indeed a pleasure to be able to share a bit about your hair journey with my readers and hope that someone find inspiration from your story.

If you have any questions about her hair, regimen or styling tips, leave a note in the comment section below and I will get them answered for you.

Happy hair day curlies and see you next Friday with a new Kinky TRESSES feature!

If you would like to be featured in the Kinky TRESSES feature post, please drop me a line via the Contact Me page!

One Comment

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

