Tags

, , ,

I caught up with fellow natural hair blogger, Caron Jacobs, who shares her story of trials and errors when it comes to her hair. Meet the Antiguan beauty who rocks her natural with an intense fierceness.

SPB_0036

Tell us a bit about yourself and the life of your hair before going natural.

Hi everyone!! I’m Caron from IslandGirlCurls.com. My hair story may seem somewhat generic. I’ve always loved my natural hair but as a child I HATED combing my hair. I’m tender headed and mommy was always tugging at my hair because it was too much for her to handle. I’m an 80’s baby so you know YouTube wasn’t even being dreamt of birthing. With that said, I guess my mom, like everyone’s mom back then, didn’t know how to handle my natural hair.

Fast forward, so I got a perm and it was pretty much that way all the way through high school, college and some of my university life. My hair began to get limp and wouldn’t hold curls. It just looked a mess so I made a spontaneous move one day to just cut it all off. I always wanted to but my hair dying (pun intended) just gave me the boost to do it.

TWAHow long have you been natural?

Well lets see. I did my first big chop in Aug 2005. Returned to the creamy crack in 2008. Hair broke off and fell out. Had my 2nd last relaxer in May 2009. 2nd Big chop on Sep 2nd 2009. So lets see…uuhhmmm….2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. So that’s 1, 2, 3, 4 years and 6 months mas o menos. WoW…time sure does move swiftly.

So you went straight ahead and big chopped; not once, but twice! How was that process?

Power to the scissors peeps. Power to the scissors. I’m a big chopper. I tried the transitioning thing for 4 months and that didn’t work. I grew frustrated with the two textures plus I was shedding like a dog who just gave birth. So I chopped it all off no regrets. First time around was a very spontaneous move as well. Didn’t even think about it. Just went to the barber. I can still hear the sound of the clippers buzzing in my ears.

How would you describe your hair?

You’re looking at a pepper pot head here. The crown of my head towards the front has very loose curls. It’s actually almost very straight. The middle is a mixture of coils and coils and the back is a mixture of kinks and coils. See what I mean? But one thing for sure I have fine, dense hair which has a tendency to feel like cotton sometimes. In terms of porosity, I’d say that my hair absorbs water in a “normal” manner.

Oh no they didn’t! 😮 Have you encountered any negativity because of your decision to return natural?

Tell me who didn’t. At the very least some smart person always  had something to say. Interestingly though, my boyfriend at the time didn’t like the idea of me “going natural” or doing the “big chop”. It had to grow on him. He was like “I like your straight hair better, it suit you better, you’re prettier with long straight hair, I like your long hair”.  Errrrkkkkssss. Please have a seat. This is my head. He eventually liked it. Mmmm…..

Also, I got the occasional remarks that my hair wasn’t professional enough for work; I look like a child/teenager. Blah Blah Blah. It was mainly the older folks talking smack about my hair but its cool. I did me…

Impressively though, MOST of the remarks I got about my hair were positive. Most people seemed to like that idea that I was bold and confident to “rock natural” 🙂

bantu-collage2

How has returning natural positively impacted you?

I know this may sound cliche but I actually like going to the gym now. Before I used to worry about sweating out my perm. Hmmmm….I wonder how many of us can relate. I also used to get a lot of serious headaches but from the moment I stopped relaxing they were on the decrease.

But…One of the best things about returning natural is the positive feedback I get from other naturals who said I inspired them to take a leap of faith to return to their natural hair. It melts my heart every time. I have met several persons who have informed me that I gave them the confidence to do it. To know that I have such impact on people that I didn’t know about makes me sit back and ponder.  That is part of the reason I started a blog.(www.islandgirlcurls.com). The world is looking and we are powerful beings. People look up to you whether or not we’ve signed up to it. So make sure that you’re always doing something to be proud of that you can look back and say “Hey, I did that!”

the-look

Are you a product junkie or do you follow KISS (Keep It Simple Sista)? What are your “holy grail” products for your natural hair?

**Laughs**

Whispers “I used to be a product junkie when I returned natural first but not any more.”

 In the beginning I was trying to find something, anything that could make my hair softer. Girl, I swear that back in the early early days, you could take a handful of my hair and scrub your blackest pot. You know the one you burned ya momma’s rice in? Yea. That one. 

As time passed on and I got to understand my hair and what it likes, and I bought fewer and fewer products. Products that moisturize my hair, give it shine and keeps it in place.

My holy grail products are: 
Herbal Essences Hello Hydration Conditioner, 
Shea Moisture Curl & Shine Hibiscus Shampoo, 
Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie, 
Infused Shea Butter done by your’s truly, 
Coconut Oi, l
Avacado Oil, 
Castor Oil
 and last but  certainly by no means least ECO STYLER Crystal Gel. Let me rant a little about this product. If they ever stopped making it, I would find all the ingredients and make it myself. I love it that much. Gets off soapbox and drops mic 🙂

We would really love to know. What is your current hair regimen?



igcI LOVE TO K.I.S.S. 

I wash once a week with a sulfate free shampoo.  Currently, I’m using Shea Moisture Curl & Shine.

Detangle & Deep condition with Herbal Essences Hello Hydration Conditioner.

Apply my leave in conditioner – Shea Moisture Curl Milk.

Every 5 – 6 Weeks I do a protein treatment with either eggs and coconut oil, Vitale Hair Mayonnaise, or Aphogee 2 Step Protein treatment.

Follow that up with some Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie or the Souffle with some of my whipped, infused shea butter and of course my Eco Styler Gel. I two strand twist my hair and rock it for the entire week. If (I should really say when) I get lazy I pull the twist into a low pony, gel it down and rock that until my next wash day which is usually on a Sunday.  I do hairstyles and updos on special occasions. 

I don’t have a schedule that I go by to trim my hair. If one day I look in the mirror and find that I can see through my ends I’m chopping them off. If the ends of my hair don’t curl right I’m chopping them off. I don’t believe in holding on to raggedy ends for the sake of length. I can however say that I tend to chop a lot. LoL. I should probably get on a schedule though. Sigh.

Do you have a mixologist diva taking refuge inside you? Share your favorite DIY recipe!

I wouldn’t consider myself a mixologist. However, yuh girl knows how to whip up some fluffy, infused Shea Butter. I add essential oils and maybe one or two other light and heavy oils (usually what ever I have in my stash).

I also love the kimmaytube leave in conditioner. That thing gives my hair life but I don’t do it often. I might need to resurrect this leave in. 

I believe that the original video was taken down from YouTube, however, MsVCharles does a good dupe to the mix up. Here’s a link to her video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5R-V_AuIEg.

What has been the biggest mistake you’ve made with your hair?


When I did my first BC back in 2005, I decided to bleach my hair. Yep just plain ole hair bleach. I didn’t add a color. I just wanted that fierce bold look. Worse mistake of my entire natural hair journey. At the time I wasn’t  taking care of my hair. Didn’t do regular treatments, didn’t moisturize. Consequently my hair broke like whoa. Hair was just well, everywhere. The bleach also altered my natural hair texture. I eventually had to cut the bleached ends a lil at a time until all was eventually gone.  Needless to say, I will never do that again. Even with all the information and hair care tips out there. I was burned and scarred for life. I admire people who can color and bleach their hair but I think it requires extra care and I can be a lazy natural sometimes so I don’t think that life’s for me.

What is your “go to” style?


That would have to be a low pony or high bun. I brush all my hair back in one, apply my favorite Eco Styler Gel and either leave the hair out in a puff, flip it in an upsides whole bun or do cinnabuns.

Cinnabun

Cinnabun

Got any words of wisdom for anyone contemplating returning natural or who has just started their journey?

Keep the faith. LoL!!!

My advice is to “return” natural for yourself.  Once you make that decision stick to it. If you’re going to transition to natural try to stick to the decision because it would be a complete waste of time to transition for 5-6 months and then get a perm only to start over again. If you feel the transitioning process will tempt you to apply a relaxer then do a big chop if you’re comfortable with little to no hair.

Also, patience is the mother of all things. Take time to enjoy each phase of your natural hair journey. Sometimes we miss the “getting to know our hair” phase. For example we don’t enjoy the BC, fade or TWA because we’re too busy waiting for our to grow so we can do twist outs or bantu knots or even a blow outs.

Too many times we jump as soon as we hear about the next best thing on the market to grow your hair. It’s okay  to want long hair and to have a hair crush but don’t let that stop you from appreciating where you are in you journey. Instead, let that be motivation for you to keep a healthy hair diet so that you can achieve you hair goals, whatever they may be. Make sure to enjoy your natural hair EVERY step of the way.

Remember, natural hair is not a trend. It’s a timeless classic!

go-to-natural-look1

We wanna FOLLOW you (but not in a creepy way! *pinky promise*) Where can we find you? 


You can find me at my blog: 
http://islandgirlcurls.com

YouTube
: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgTpOmUPFCaAgYTiTSpnFFw

Twitter 
@islandgirlcurls

Follow Me 😀

Thanks curlies! Until next time stay fierce!!!

Thank you so much, Caron, for taking the time to share with us. I do hope someone finds inspiration from your story and take that leap to start their own journey. Stay beautiful x

If you have any questions about her hair, regimen or styling tips, leave a note in the comment section below and I will get them answered for you.

Happy hair day curlies and see you next Friday with a new Kinky TRESSES feature where we speak to a young Dr and find out how she handles her hair on a busy schedule.

If you would like to be featured in the Kinky TRESSES feature post, please drop me a line via the Contact Me page!

 

