Tags

, , , ,

Its been one month since I started my Castor Oil Challenge and so, as promised, I am here to update you on my progress. See the original post here.

First, I have to admit that thinking I could take on the ULTIMATE level of this challenge was a challenge in itself! 🙂  I knew castor oil was too heavy a oil for my fine strands but I really wanted to do the ultimate level. However, after just one week of using castor oil for 5 of those days , it was clear that I simply could not continue to do so. There was just too much oil on my strands…even tho I tried to use as little as possible.

So, update #1 is that I have downgraded to the ADVANCE level of the challenge – applying castor oil to my scalp up to 3 times a week. The way I compensated for having to abandon the ultimate level is that I now ONLY use castor oil as my oil of choice in my hair. Whatever it is I need oil for, its castor oil I reach for. A fair trade if you ask me.

So here is how I have been incorporating castor oil into my hair care regimen:

  • Applying castor oil to scalp 3 days a week as per challenge rules
  • Oil rinsing with castor oil during my wash process
  • Adding castor oil to my deep conditioner as per challenge rules
  • Using castor oil to seal hair after moisturizing
  • Using castor oil to make my DIY KimmayTube’s Leave-In Conditioner
  • Using castor oil in my DIY Hair Mist

That’s a lot of castor oil, right! So, technically, I could probably say I am still on the ULTIMATE challenge level, right? 😀

Here are my progress photos one month apart. The first thing you will notice is that my hair color is different (remember I dyed them back to black on the same day I started this challenge)

Left Side_2

Left: Feb 2014 | Right: Mar 2014

Right Side_2

Left: Feb 2014 | Right: Mar 2014

Front_2

Left: Feb 2014 | Right: Mar 2014

Back_2

Left: Feb 2014 | Right: Mar 2014

I honestly didn’t expect to see any noticeable increase in growth within my first month of this challenge…and I haven’t. The only difference I see in the photos is the way I am holding the tip of the hair. In my Feb photos, you can see the very tip of my hair past my fingers. So although there appear to be a teeny weeny bit of difference in length, I have contribute dthat to the fact that in my March photos, I am now holding the very tip of my hair (hope I didn’t confuse anyone!)

What I have noticed, tho, is that my hair looks slightly thicker (my gf commented that it does indeed look thicker) and my hair is much softer and remains moisturized much longer than it used to.

The slightly thicker look and the softness I contribute directly to my use of castor oil; but I cannot say for sure if its the castor oil that has helped me to retain moisture longer or if it is the OIL RINSING method that I have recently incorporated into my wash cycle. I am thinking its the oil rinsing method 🙂

But either way, there has not been one day that I have had dry hair! How crazy is that? It looks like my dry hair days could be behind me at last! My hair has been continually soft and moisturized and I am such a happy camper! #allsmiles

pGNC1-2331521dtGoing into month 2, I have a confession to make. I just received my order of 2-month supply of GNC Ultra Nourishing Hair capsules. I was looking at Hairfinity but decided to try the GNC brand as people have said it is “just as good/effective” as Hairfinity and it is wayyyyyy cheaper! I bought mine on the GNC Ebay store as the prices there were cheaper than their official website, not to mention they had free shipping 🙂  Getting them to Antigua, now that’s another story!

Because I will now be taking this supplement to aid my hair growth, I will not be able to contribute any growth gained over the next two months sorely to the castor oil. I will have to factor in these hair pills.

I can’t wait to see how these pills works! See you curlies in a month when I do another update on what will be renamed my Castor Oil/GNC Ultra Nourish Hair Growth Challenge!

Happy hair day curlfriends x

 

