Kinky TRESSES: Meet Dr Saran P King

Welcome to another week of Kinky TRESSES curlies! This week, we chat with young Dr Saran P King who has been natural for as long as she can remember. She fully loves and embraces all aspects of her natural tresses and shares her regimen with us.

Dr Saran P King
Dr Saran P King

Tell us a bit about yourself and the life of your hair.

I have been natural all of my childhood years and most of my adult life. It was not until I went off to University did I, out of curiosity, texturize my hair on two separate occasions lasting only a year both times.

My childhood natural days were not bad; I got my hair washed and plat on the weekends by my mom. As an adult, I did my hair myself but it was only after I graduated from University did I truly know how to care for my hair; through watching many YouTube channels, reading various books and many blogs and articles.

spb_0183_2What year did you start taking care of your tresses?

My healthy natural hair journey started in 2010.

I like that – “healthy hair journey”. So, tell us, how were you able to get your hair to regain its natural curl pattern after the texturizers?

I long term transitioned both times for just over a year, clipping the ends slowly until I had a full head of my natural hair again. Transitioning to me was easy because I was used to keeping my hair in twists or cornrows most of the time anyway so that was all I did until the texturized grew out. It took a lot of patience because the hair is very delicate naturally and even more when you are transitioning so I had to be particularly careful when handling my hair during washing, detangling and styling. But it was totally worth it because I did not want to cut my hair all off at once so transitioning was the only option for me.

How would you describe your hair?

I am not really into hair typing but I what I would say is that there are differant textures of hair on my head from very curly at the back and sides and some of the front to a little kinky in the middle and some in the front. The majority of the strands are very fine. There is even a difference in colour through out my hair; the edges are of a lighter brown colour and the rest of the hair is more dark brown to black but not jet black.

protective style3

What are some of the struggles you face dealing with your natural hair?

When my hair was a little shorter a few years ago when I was just learning how to truly care for my hair, I struggled to keep moisture in my hair. But now, I would say the one difficulty I have, not really a struggle, is dealing with single strand knots. Because my hair is so fine and curly, it is prone to tangling and knotting up very easily so I have to keep my hair in protective styles 99% of the time.

What are your “holy grail” products for your natural hair right now?

Well I like keeping things simple so I use very few products. But my holy grail products include: grapeseed oil, shea butter, Herbal Essence Hello Hydration conditioner and the As I Am Coconut Cowash cleansing conditioner and of course, water.

DSCN2979

Do you have a mixologist diva taking refuge inside you? Share your favorite DIY recipe!

I do like mixing things, not only for my hair but for my skin. My favourite DIY product would have to be the oil mix recipe that I saw from fellow youtuber Napural85 where she used a variety of oils as a moisturizer for hair and body including vitamin E oil, sweet almond oil, avocado oil, olive oil, jojoba oil and castor oil. See video here.

What is your current “go to” style?

I enjoy wearing my hair in protective styles so there is no surprise that my go to styles are also my protective styles. My 2 favorite go-to hair styles are 2 strand twists and a simple bun.

Bun

Tell us a bit about your hair regimen.

My hair regimen is really simple, my hair is washed and detangled once a week. Every step in done in 2 or 4 sections and finger detangling only. After detangling my hair while damp with either an oil or conditioner. I wash my hair with the As I Am cowash coconut cleanser conditioner and rinse with warm water. Then I condition and deep condition (for at least 45 min -1hr) with the Hello Hydration Conditioner or the Tilah Waajid conditioner with or without heat then rinse with cool water. I seal in the moisture on damp hair with grapeseed oil and shea butter and 2 strand twist with or without gel.

Since I have been transitioning from a permanent colour I placed in 2011, I have been slowly clipping the ends and any time I come across any knots or spilt ends I cut them off. Every few months or whenever my hair feels limp, I do a protein treatment with the Aphogee 2 step treatment or the Aphogee 2 minute keratin treatment. I cover my hair at nights with a satin scarf and I always sleep with a satin pillow case.

SPB_0120

What are some words of wisdom/advice/ inspiration you have for any one that may be considering wearing their natural hair?

There are three things that I would say to anyone who wants to wear their natural hair.

  1. Do your own research, try new and different things and get your own knowledge and experience on hair care, products, styles etc.
  2. Don’t compare your hair to anyone else’s, each head of hair is unique and beautifully created perfect for that individual
  3. Enjoy your hair, no matter the texture, the length, the density etc, just enjoy it in every aspect and at every stage.

Where can we find you on social media?

You can find me at my YouTube channel @ AntiguaBarbudaGirl

Link: http://www.youtube.com/user/antiguabarbudagirl

Also you can visit my blog @ AntiguaBarbudaGirl.wordpress.com

Link: http://antiguabarbudagirl.wordpress.com

You can send my a tweet on twitter @ Antigua BarbudaG

Link: https://twitter.com/AntiguaBarbudaG

protective style6

Thank you so much, Saran, for taking the time to share your hair story with us 🙂

If you have any questions about her hair, regimen or styling tips, leave a note in the comment section below and I will get them answered for you.

Happy hair day curlies and see you next Friday with a new Kinky TRESSES feature where we travel to Canada to chat with a beautiful natural who is wholly in love with her tresses which she have nicknamed Rocco 🙂

If you would like to be featured in the Kinky TRESSES feature post, please drop me a line via the Contact Me page!

5 Comments

  1. Saran your curls are absolutely beautiful.

    You and I are similar in terms of a simple hair regimen which I think simple is best.

    But your advice to those contemplating returning natural is great. I especially like the “no comparison” part. I remember back in the days when I couldn’t wait for my hair to be a certain length to achieve a particular style but was quickly disappointed when I realized my hair didn’t have enough body to achieve said style. Sigh. I had to accept it and then learn to modify styles. I love my thin kinky, curly, coily hair.

    I enjoyed your interview!!!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

