Product Review: Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie

shea-moisture-curl-enhancing-smoothie

 

This product is by far my most favorite for my natural hair. It is the one of the only products I refuse to be out of – ever. For me, this moisturizer helps to keep my hair soft and well moisturized. It moisturizes without being greasy. You may want to note that this product does not provide any HOLD what-so-ever. It dries soft and that’s how I like my hair.

It has a nice, thick, creamy consistency that is great for thick curly hair. A lot of people says a little goes a long way but I tend to use quite a bit – I apply it per section when twisting; perhaps that’s why my usually dry hair has been able to retain moisture.

It smells light and fresh. While not fragrance-free, it is definitely suitable for people who can’t stand strongly-scented products. They accomplished a great balance smell-wise and I am so grateful for that because I can’t tell you how much I hate heavily scented products! You know the ones that are so sweet that they stink? The ones you smell day in and day out until you wash it out? This is the complete opposite!

How I Use It:

I use this moisturizer practically every time I style my hair. I use it after every wash (leave-in –>oi l–>smoothie –>twists). I use it with the Shea Moisture Curling Gel Souffle when doing my flat twists. I use it under EcoStyler gel when doing twist outs.

Costing

This is one of the pocket friendly products for those in the US or UK as it retails for US$9.99 at most online stores or retail outlets. However, this ranks in the more pricier category here in the Caribbean where the exchange rate pushes the cost price to EC$27 and then we have to add shipping and custom duties. At the end of the day, this baby retails here in Antigua for between EC$45 -EC$55. But its one expense that my wallet is happy to open for 🙂

Ingredients List

Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (Certified Organic Ingredient), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil (Certified Organic Ingredient), Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter (Certified Organic Ingredient), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Silk Protein, Ammonium Salt, Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Seed Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil, Sorbitol Esters, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Caprylyl Glycol, Essential Oil Blend, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower, Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hibiscus Flower Extract.

Overall, I give this product a complete 5/5!

Have you used this product? What are your thoughts on it?

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

