Protective Style Challenge: Month 1

Hello Curlies! I have not yet finished one challenge before I’m jumping into another…and you know what? That’s quite alright 🙂 Say hello to my Protective Style Challenge!

Protective Style Challenge - Month 1
Protective Style Challenge – Month 1

I have been growing attire of having my hair out for the past few months. I have been diligently applying my Castor oil to my scalp and hair as well have been religiously taking my hair vitamins and I find that the best way to ensure that I give my hair its best chance at retaining length would be to go on a protective style challenge.

I did not see my constant twisting and retwisting and just wearing my hair out on an everyday basis being beneficial to my growth. I have noticed that I have gained some length within the last month as when I am doing my two-strand twist, the twists are visibly longer. I did, however, forget to take length check pics prior to installing my cornrows 😦  I blame it on the flu I have been battling for the past week.

My Protective Style Challenge is simple – I am simply aiming for 3 months of constant protective styling. I have chosen cornrows as my main protective style and am keeping my fingers crossed that I see significant growth within that period. I am hoping to keep each style for at minimum 1 month. More if possible.

These are my intended plan for taking care of my protective styles:

I will admit from now that I will not be washing my hair while it braided. I have never been able to do the wash routine while braided so I don’t see myself starting now. Call me nasty but I will just have to take it 😀  I do not sweat a lot in general so I do not worry about sweating in my head.

So my protective style challenge is as simple as that!

Here is a photo of the inspiration pic that I based my style on. I don’t have near enough hair to get it to look exactly like this but I think my stylist did a good enough job. I do, however, wish she had paid more attention to the size of each braid so that they would be more consistent on each side. That was my only disappointment with the style.

32ac9a904d1fdd8c7f7671ebccc0dda0

I used kanekolen braids to get the bigger plaits and recycled Marley hair for the spirals.

I have created a collage of cornrow hairstyles and have saved them as a page on my site for future reference! Go have a look if you’re feeling for some Hairspiration: Cornrows. Feel free to send me photos of your cornrow styles to add to the page!

Have you done a Protective Style Challenge recently? Currently on one? Let me know what you did and how beneficial it was to you! I would love to know!

Happy hair days curlies xx

15 Comments

    1. Thank you, Dionne. These are my first set of cornrows in my adult life and I am in love with them! I’m excited to pick out new styles for the next few months. Thanks for stopping by my page xx

  1. When I first went natural, I kept my hair in cornrows for 2 years! I love this style, I have to copycat it and try it for myself. It is so beautiful! Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. My hair was growing so fast that they only lasted about 1 1/2 weeks before I had to have them re-braided! I was lucky because my sister is a hair stylist and she would braid my hair anytime I needed her to. Thanks for the link to the additional hair styles!

    2. Ur so lucky indeed! I had to pay EC$70 for this style and I don’t think it will last past 2# weeks 😦 So I will have to find another protective style soon!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

