Castor Oil Challenge – 2 Month Update

So technically, it has been 2 months and 10 days but I wanted to get this update in before I do my final update early May. For the past month I have used Castor Oil at least 3 – 4 times a week, I continue to add it to my deep conditioner etc. Here are my comparison pictures. Please bear in mind that I started taking the GNC Ultra Hair Nourish pill at the beginning of month 2 so that has also affected my growth.

In my April photos, I had just taken down my cornrows and my hair still looked like it did when I blew it out slightly to install the cornrows – all stretched out.

I took down my cornrows just shy of the 2 week mark as my head was constantly itching ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย As I type, I have since washed and treated my hair yet it is STILL itching. I have scratched my scalp sore ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ย What do you use for an itchy scalp? I have a medicated ‘grease’ I used some years ago when I had this issue that I will have to go find somewhere at the back of my cupboard! I don’t know if its a reaction to the kanekolon hair I used to do the cornrows or what but I have to get this itching under control to stick with my Protective Style Challenge! Grrrr.

But overall, my hair is coming along nicely, don’t you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Castor Oil Challenge – 2 Month Update

  1. nafisah says:

    Yay!!…I see some growth. I suggest you give your scalp soothing slow massage sessions with just about anything: aloe vera, coconut oil or tea tree oil. Try doing it a few times daily until the itching stops. I haven’t had any serious itchy scalp issues but when my scalp gets itchy, that’s what I do and it works!

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thanks hun! I’m going to do some research via Dr Google later. I went ahead and applied the hair treatment for dandruff/itchy scalp. If I’m still itching tomorrow will co-wash my hair and try whatever I find online later!

  2. Rolings says:

    Hi! does this challenge mean one can only use the Jamaican castor oil? i cant find it anywhere locally, except the version you find in grocery stores. Thanks.

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      Hello! Regular castor oil is just as effective for this challenge so go ahead and pick up a bottle! Many persons have used it. Just check out a few YouTube vids to verify.
      Feel free to come back and let me know how it worked for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

