My Skin Care Routine

SkinCareHeader_2

One of the things that enhances our natural hair is clear skin. Having acne-free/pimple-free skin will give you such a boost of confidence like you cannot believe! I know this because for quite a number of years, while natural, I suffered from adult acne. The first time I started breaking out, the Dermatologist told me that the type of acne I had was due to the excess products I use in my hair seeping onto my skin and causing my face, back, chest and shoulders to break out. Like seriously! I tried hiding behind make-up but my skin would not take the makeup properly and I would end up just looking a HOT MESS! I even resorted to rocking a combed out afro for a spell so as to use as little product as possible…and you ladies know how much I loathe a combed out afro [on myself]! Haha.

More recently, tho, I had the worst acne breakout and could not figure out what was the cause! I usually get the under-surface pimple that gets big and ugly but has no head so you can’t just burst that baby (like I know I shouldn’t). What I realized in hindsight is that I was taking a good dose of daily Biotin for my hair and never linked the two. Therefore I suffered for several months while I was religiously popping those Biotins! Oh the things we do for our hair!

But, today, my skin is so much healthier and although I get a pimple here or there every so often, its nothing compared to what I used to be affected with. My photos comes out beautifully because  my skin is in such good shape.

This week, it occurred to me how frugal/natural my skin care products/routine had become and I wondered if that was why my skin has been glowing so beautifully.

Here is a round up of what I do on a daily basis for fresh, beautiful skin and the products that keeps it that way.

The Daily 3-Step Process – Cleanse | Tone | Moisturize

1.  Cleanser / Make-Up Remover

CJ1E

I clean my face / take off my makeup using the African Black Soap Dudu-Osun. I love that soap. Its just amazing! Cleans my skin thoroughly and completely without drying it out.

I use this 2 – 3 times a week. Anything more will cause your skin to dry out over an extended period of time. DO NOT use it everyday and never twice a day!

2.  Toner

bragg-apple-cider-vinegar1

I use the ever faithful Organic Apple Cider Vinegar mixed with water as my daily toner. ACV is excellent for regulating the skins pH levels due to it’s acidity.

I use this twice a day after cleansing my face at both mornings and evenings. I mix a ratio of 1:2 with the ACV being the lesser amount. I store this is an empty bottle and apply to a cotton pad as needed.

3.  Moisturizer

Ponds B Clarant

I use the  Pond’s Clarant B3 Normal to Oily Skin to moisturize my face. The Dermatologist had recommended this to me after my initial acne breakouts. It was to help remove the dark marks that the acne left behind. I’m not quite sure how effective it is for dark spots but this moisturizer gives my skin a matte finish that is just awesome.

Weekly Skin Care Rituals

1.  Lemon & Sugar Facial Scrub

lemon_sugar_olive_oil_honey_scrub

This scrub is made using lemon juice, sugar, honey and olive oil and the recipe can be found here. I use this at least twice a week to exfoliate my face. My skin is left soft and smooth to the touch afterwards. My make-up applies like a charm too!

2.  Pure Honey Cleanser

honey

On days I do not exfoliate, I sometimes rub pure honey on my face and let sit while I brush my teeth and/or fix my hair and rinse off in the shower. I apply to slightly damp skin and massage in.

Pure honey is a fierce anti-bacterial agent that has been used for centuries to heal wounds and keep infections at bay. Raw Honey is very effective at inhibiting microbes and bacteria which makes it perfect for skin cleansing. Honey is also a humectant so cleansing with honey will attract moisture to your skin leaving it feeling soft and hydrated. Read more here.

3.  Clay Masque

petalfreshFACclayMAS

I don’t know if this is any good but I bought it a while back and so I use it 😀  Generally, I only use this once a week. I let it dry and rinse off in the shower. I have heard good things about Bentonite Clay and would love to try that some day.

4.  Pure Lemon Juice

Lemon Juice

This I use to treat dark marks left over from any outbreak of pimple/acne that strikes me. It is a slow and tedious process but it gets the job done; not to mention it cost mere cents! Did I mention its TEDIOUS? 😀

I am going to share my make-up routine with you in a follow up post. I simply enhance my face with makeup so my process is simple and takes all of 10 minutes in the morning! I have watched 101 Youtube Vids on makeup application and although there are days that I wish I had their talents, I just stick to keeping it simple because that is what I can do! 😀

What do you use on your skin to keep it radiant? Do share your favorite product or DIY with me.

34 thoughts on “My Skin Care Routine

  1. Transitionneuse says:

    Great article! Due to the products on my hair I have adult acne sometimes and I really want to get rid of my acne scars … I’ll try the ACV toner (never used one before) and I guess I’ll see if it works on my skin…

  2. TheDeetz says:

    I really enjoyed this post!!! 😀 I absolutely love putting green tea on my face, because it makes it super glowy and healthy looking. I think I’m going to try the ACV toner, as I love trying out anything natural.

    • BlackZulu says:

      I have also been hearing good things about green tea (from skin care to hair care). You’ve just inspired me to take a closer look at it. Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the post and I really do hope you enjoy the ACV toner 🙂

    • BlackZulu says:

      I have tried a few black soaps and am comfortable with Dudu-Osum. I sometimes apply it overnight to troublesome pimples and that helps the pimple disappear faster. If my entire face feels out of sync, I apply a thin layer of black soap overnight. Helps every time.
      I picked up the honey cleansing from you so def had to link! 🙂

  3. nafisah says:

    Gosh…thank you so much for posting your routine cause right now I could really use alotta help with my perpertual acne break out. Thnks!!

    • BlackZulu says:

      Oh yes, I am getting my hands on some Bentonite Clay next week. Can’t wait!
      My younger sis said to me the other day, “I swear every issue you have, you use ACV”. More power to the ACV!

  4. antiguabarbudagirl says:

    AAAaaaarhhhhh! I literally screamed out when I started reading this post and saying aloud that you are almost my skin care twin….. I used to use black soap but I found that it was too drying. I now use the Ambi cocoa butter soap as a cleanser, the ACV as a toner and the Ponds Clarant B3 as a moisturizer. I occasionally use honey and and brown sugar scrub to exfoliate but I mostly use the Ambi exfoliating scrub……… Great post by the way!!!! I have struggled for years also with acne and only in the past couple years got finally got a handle on it. I have to attribute drinking more water, reducing my sugar in take and staying out of the sun to it as well. Thanks for the tip with the lemon juice for the black heads. I definitely have to try that. Looking forward to your future posts. 🙂

    • BlackZulu says:

      Big smile. I struggle when it comes to sugar because I am addicted to sugary cereal. I just try to drink enough water to combat it (even if just in the slightest) Let me know if you do try the lemon juice. I’m monitoring my skin now with the lemon juice for a future post 🙂

    • antiguabarbudagirl says:

      lol, I struggle with salty snacks, not so much the sugary ones so it wasn’t that hard. I will let you know. Oh, I forgot to mention that I also add baking soda with the ambi soap and I recently starting doing facial massages.

    • BlackZulu says:

      I have never used baking soda on my face tho I did post a couple of DIY recipes using baking soda on Color Me Beautiful. I don’t know, baking soda just seems like a harsh product. Shemmee has convinced me to try Bentonite Clay so will be doing that as soon as I get some from Loretta 🙂 Stay beautiful x

    • antiguabarbudagirl says:

      Baking soda is a great cleanser not just for the face. I always add a few drops of water before apply it to my face and I am very gentle with it on my face. Baking soda has a lot of great benefits, I also use it in my home made deodorant. I have read a lot of the bentonite clay for the hair and skin. I may try it some of these days.

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thanks hun. Now its just to attack those dark marks once and for all. They are fading, but slowly. I need to find a quicker remedy and that starts with Bentonite Clay!
      How is your skin post Biotin?

    • naturallyunapologetic says:

      My skin is the best it’s ever been since I stopped using biotin. It’s been about a year post biotin and I’ve only had about 5 pimples total due to stress, my period, etc. But other than that my skin is clear, soft and smooth.

      As for the scaring, it will go away soon enough, your skin still looks awesome to me!

    • BlackZulu says:

      My makeup looks awesome, yes! hehe. I want to look at my face and not see the spots so def will be working on it. So glad ur skin is much better.

    • BlackZulu says:

      My makeup is so basic it looks like my skin! A lil foundation, powder, eyebrows, mascara and lip gloss. Nothing fancy. Pictures comes out beautiful every time 😀

  5. An Afrikan Butterfly says:

    I’ve been using ACV as a toner for the last few weeks and moisturising afterwards with grapeseed oil. As a cleanser, I’d been using ayurvedic herbs- Amla, Reetha and Shikaikai, and they leave my skin clean and not stripped. I’ve been lazy in the past week so I’ve been using Dudu Osun instead to wash my face. BUT. Nothing has changed. My acne is just as present as before, in the same spots. 😦

    When you use honey to cleanse, do you just rinse it with water or you wash it off with Dudu Osun?

    • BlackZulu says:

      Oh my! I am so sorry to hear that 😦 I use a combination of DIY sugar scrub, honey cleansing, bentonite clay masks and ACV toner.

      When I honey cleanse, I simply damp my skin, apply honey and massage in and wash it off when I shower. I normally do this only once a day and not even every day. Like if I’m using my sugar scrub that already has honey in it, I skip the honey cleanse.

      On weekends, I tend to just put it on and let it sit in my face for about an hour or so while I watch TV or whatever.

      This morning, I applied the honey and went to ironing my uniform. While doing that I decided to do a face steam so I boiled up some water, poured in a bowl and put a towel over my head and did a quick 2 mins steam – with the honey still on my face.

      I have no rhyme or rhythm. I just do what comes naturally to me. But I would recommend you find a regimen and stick to it.

      Do you take Biotin? Because that monster can cause serious acne!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

