Protective Style: Havana Twists

 

onyxx

Havana Twists using authentic Havana Hair from Finger Comber

Have you heard of Havana Twists? I first saw them online a couple years ago and traced them back to the site Finger Comber which sells Havana braids. Marley hair is the sweet knock off at more than 1/2 price less! I loved the look of the big, chunky twists but never imagined that I could rock it. When I purchased my 5# packs of marley hair, it was intended to do those big, chunky Havana Twists but I wasn’t brave enough. I kept thinking that style would be too much for work.

Fast forward a couple years and your girl is rocking that style like nobody’s business! What doyou think ladies?

Havana_2

And the best part? This was a DIY! That’s right! I did these babies myself. I am so proud of myself right now 🙂

I used roughly 6# packs of marley hair using 4 strands for each twist. I have 33 plaits in total. It took me about 5 hours to finish because of the following factors:

  • I co-washed my hair right before so my hair was damp so I had to blow dry each section of hair
  • I am using recycled marley hair and had to be separating the braids as I go
  • I did them the traditional way (twisting from the roots) and sometimes I didn’t always get it right so had to stop and start again 😀

My marley braids are cut in two so I simply overlapped them in the center to attain the original length. Did I tell you how VERSATILE marley hair is?

I woke up this morning and curled the ends with some flexi rods and dipped them in hot water. I am so in love with my Havana Twists!

Here is a quick video on how to do your own Havana Twists.

Have you tried Havana Twists? Would you?

14 thoughts on “Protective Style: Havana Twists

  1. Kushite Prince says:

    Those twists definitely look good on you! You are such a cutie pie. I think your name should be Zulu Queen from now on.lol Because girl you look like royalty! 🙂

  2. Chari D says:

    . Have I told you lately that I love these??? They are gorgeous!!! Jeez you make me so jealous, they’re ridiculously well done! Lol proud of you too. There was something funky going on with the internet so I haven’t been able to view word press blogs for awhile. Ps. I used Afro Kinky Bulk Hair by Supreme for the big twist out looking hair

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thanks, Charity! And also for the info on the hair. My hair is too long for that style because I have 4″ of hair and to braid that much and then do the twistout…a little strange 😀 But your hair was indeed lovely!

  3. heynaturalbeauties says:

    I love these! they look amazing, you did a great job. I tried these in December and took me 8.5 hours to finish lol, I haven’t been brave enough to try it again. They really suit you 🙂

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thank youuuuu! I am going on a hunch and saying your set was much smaller than mine, right? 😀 But the first time always takes the longest. You shd definitely try them again (marley hair fanatic). I’m thinking I will try the faux locks next.

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

