Castor Oil Challenge – 3 Month Update (FINAL)

FrontView_FINAL_Header2

Congratulations to me! Congratulations to me! Congratulations, congratulationsssssss, congratulations to meeeeee! Yay! I have just completed my 3 Months Castor Oil Challenge and I, for one, am super proud of myself! Challenges takes dedication and I am so happy that I was able to stick with it 🙂 The challenge was easy enough as I simply put aside all other oils for the duration and focused only on JBCO.  My real challenge was actually taking the photos to post! Ha!

For my final month, I continued to use castor oil 3 – 4 times a week. I had cornrows for a couple weeks and Havana Twists as well so that made application easy. I didn’t change anything in my regimen since my last update so without further ado, here are my final photos showing where I started and how much growth I achieved over the last 3 months.

Front View
Front View
LeftSide_FINAL
Left Side
RightSide_FINAL
Right Side
Back View
Back View

Again, bear in mind that I used a hair vitamin for 6 weeks of this challenge.

Presently, the very front of my hair is 4.5” in length. I didn’t measure my hair length in February but eyeballing it, it looks like my hair grew just about 1”. On average, hair grows ½” per month so I should have attained at least 1.5”; not to mention that I used the GNC Hair vitamins for 6 weeks of the 3-month challenge duration.

My hair truly does grow at a snail’s pace….but at the end of the day, it is my hair and I have grown to accept it. My hair feels healthy and happy and that’s all the matters, right? 🙂

So now that I have completed this challenge, I will not be using castor oil to the extent that I have been. It will remain a part of my regimen but I think I will use it mixed with the lighter coconut oil to get a good balance going forward.

Overall, the challenge was worth it. My hair is healthy and beautiful and I would recommend it to any natural any day!

What challenges have you undertaken to encourage hair growth? Was it successful?

16 Comments

  1. Congratulations gal! I recently posted my first update on my Ultimate Castor Oil challenge. The progress is very encouraging, so I would recommend this challenge to any natural as well…

    1. I was wondering about your progress a day ago but my internet has been bad so only an hour’s access at work. Will def check your update today tho. So glad you feel encouraged 🙂

    1. Hi Cathy. I do not have the “hand in hair” syndrome but I style my hair as often as I see fit. Its my hair and if I want to touch it 10 times a day that is my perogative. Do what comes naturally to you. Not every advice administered amongst the natural hair community needs adhering to. Good luck x

  2. Hmm You make it seem like the progress was very minimal. Just because hair grows at a certain rate doesn’t mean that we retain that length. It looks like to me your hair got thicker and you retained all the length.

    1. Hi Jasmine. I, personally, didn’t find the results to be extreme…also given the fact that I was using hair vitamins during that period.
      But I’m happy you find the results impressive. Hopefully you give the challenge a try 🙂 I loved how moisturized my hair was because of the JBCO tho. That was awesome! I only use a mix on JBCO and coconut oil in my hair now because of it so the challenge was def beneficial to me.

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

