Homemade Natural Deodorant

DIY-Natural-Deodorant

I just came across this recipe on FreePeople Blog and just had to share! Mostly so I can remember to try it as soon as I get all the ingredients in hand 🙂 I’m a big fan of DIYs and so this just tickles me pink; a definite must try.

What you need:

½ cup organic coconut oil
¼ cup baking soda
¼ cup arrowroot flour
5-10 drops essential oil mixture (I used jasmine and bergamot)

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, mix the baking soda and arrowroot flour until well combined. Baking soda can be quite irritating on some skin, so if you think you may be sensitive to it, use less baking soda and more arrowroot flour – or you can substitute arrowroot flour for baking soda completely.

2. Add the coconut oil (room temperature works best) and mix until you reach a smooth consistency – there shouldn’t be any leftover powder. If you feel that your mixture is too dry, add a bit more coconut oil and mix some more.

3. Almost done! Add your essential oil mixture – this is totally optional, but I’m always down for an opportunity to smell great. My newest obsession is bergamot oil, which, when paired with jasmine – in my opinion – creates the most intoxicating scent. I love it!

Have you tried making your own deodorant? If so, then drop me any tips you may have! Thanks and I hope you give this a try too! xx

2 thoughts on “Homemade Natural Deodorant

  1. ajuanita says:

    I can’t tell you how excited I am to find your blog! We have the exact same hair type and length and I found your post on the high bun so inspirational and creative. I’m bookmarking you! Love from Uganda.

    • BlackZulu says:

      Hi, Ajuanita! You made me smile so wide today 🙂 Glad my blog has been inspirational! Hope I continue to inspire – that is my main goal. Plus, its always great to find someone with your texture and length! Big hug from the land of sun, sea and sand – Antigua xo

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

