Type 4 Hair Info

10322808_652871644804362_5498477329187676454_n

Source: Google.com

Its amazing how much I have grown to love and appreciate my 4C hair texture! I installed some marley hair and after dipping in hot water it wasn’t kinky enough for me. I look pass any braiding hair that doesn’t have the kinky texture of MY 4C hair! I want hair that mimics my own. Hair that stands effect and full, big and bold! 🙂

Yup, I love my hair!

Here is a bit of info on Type 4 hair that I found on the Naturally Curly blog. I like the little tips given for each hair type and just thought it would be lovely to share.

Type 4 – Coily Hair

Type 4 hair can range from fine and thin to wiry and coarse with lots and lots of strands densely packed together. Coily hair has fewer cuticle layers than any other hair type, which means that it has less protection from the damage inflicted by combing, brushing, curling, blow-drying and straightening.

4A – Coily Springy℠

Type 4A Coily Springy

Type 4a is tightly coiled hair that has an “S” pattern. It has more moisture than 4b; it has a definite curl pattern. The circumference of the spirals is close to that of a crochet needle. The hair can be wiry or fine-textured. It is very fragile with lots of strands densely packed together. Type 4 hair has fewer cuticle layers than other hair types, which means it has less natural protection from damage.

4a celebrites include: Macy Gray, Solange Knowles, and Leela James.

 

Quick Tips

4B – Coily Crimpy℠

Type 4B Coily Crimpy

Type 4b has a “Z” pattern, less of a defined curl pattern. Instead of curling or coiling, the hair bends in sharp angles like the letter “Z”. Type 4 hair has a cotton-like feel. The hair is very wiry, very tightly coiled or bent and very, very fragile; you must take great care when working with it. Type 4 hair can range from fine/thin to wiry/coarse with lots and lots of strands densely packed together. Type 4b hair often shrinks up to 75% of the actual hair length.

4b celebrites include: Esperanza Spalding, Yvette Nicole Brown, and Lauryn Hill.

 

Quick Tips

4C – Coily Ziggly℠

Type 4C Coily Ziggly

Type 4c hair is composed of curl patterns that will almost never clump without doing a specific hair style. It can range from fine/thin/super soft to wiry/coarse with lots of densely packed strands. 4c hair has been described as a more “challenging” version of 4b hair. Some say 4c looks identical to 4b except that the curls are so tightly kinked, there is seemingly no definition. 4c hair can shrink more than 75%.

4c celebrites include: Jill Scott, Erykah Badu, and Aevin Dugas.

 

Quick Tips

15 thoughts on “Type 4 Hair Info

  1. charnelehenry says:

    Wash every 3 days tho?? I am not up for that. Due to the challenges my natural hair gave me as a child I never thought I’d today say that I actually like my hair in its natural state (though hard to style) as opposed to processed or braided. They look good in but I prefer it out.

    • BlackZulu says:

      Haha @ every 3 days. Nah, I’m not about that life either; but to each their own. I mist with a moisturizing spritz when I feel my hair needs liquid; not wash my whole head! What I do plan to do tho is use less shampoo because I used to shampoo every time I wash – which was once a week 😀
      More power to embracing our natural hair!!

    • charnelehenry says:

      I hate how my hair feels after a shampoo. I now use baking soda to wash and vinegar to condition. I only use a pea sized amount of shampoo in between that and I still have my bottle of conditioner which I use to loosen up the dirt, oil, and product before a wash. You should give it a try.

    • BlackZulu says:

      I love to hear it when ppl find natural alternatives to take care of their hair! Just fantastic!!!
      Personally, I cannot imagine using baking soda in my hair – sorry lol. In my head, I just can’t see it. Too many years struggling with dry hair to attempt that one (I just imagine its drying – I have absolutely no proof of that!) And same goes for conditioning with ACV. I can’t imagine that being enough to satisfy my dry hair.
      Once you find what works for your hair – I say stick with it. Happy hair is healthy hair and I find bentonite clay for cleansing and coconut milk and honey etc for deep conditioning awesome on wash day. That’s all I do now. No extra fluff like pre-poos or hot oil treatments etc.

  2. hermajestym says:

    I actually have no idea what type of hair I have. I have tried so many times to put it into one of the categories but it just doesn’t fit. Sometimes its look 3c … other times it look 4a/b … I really don’t know. Will probably go to a hair dresser so they figure it out

    • BlackZulu says:

      Not every head can be boxed into a category. Many find that they have a combination of 2 or 3 types in dif areas of their head. The important thing is knowing what works best in your hair so don’t stress the small stuff like hair typing 🙂

  3. Galleen says:

    I’m natural for 1yr this July! What a wonderful journey! I luv my natural hair and da feel of it! I use Olive Replenishing shampoo after I remove braids only! Other time I co wash with Tresseme conditioner! Which leave my hair so soft! I also use da Loc method. Water,oil and cream! And use my Tresseme for leave in or as cream before I twist!

    • BlackZulu says:

      Congrats on making it past one year! The first year is usually the toughest but once you get past it, it gets a lot easier. Sounds like you have figured out what works for your hair – that is awesome! Continue to enjoy your journey and share with friends and relatives so they too may be encouraged to return natural *-*

    • BlackZulu says:

      Deep conditioning allows for deeper penetration of the product which leads to softer hair. Deep conditioning can be done with or without heat but added heat (like a heat cap) allows the product to penetrate faster. If deep conditioning without heat you will have to let the product sit for 45 mins – 1 hour. With heat, all you need is 20 – 30 mins. You can do something simple like the Motions Deep Conditioning Masque (store bought product) or you can simply pump up your regular conditioner by adding a bit of honey, coconut milk and olive oil to it. Or you can start from scratch and do a banana and coconut milk deep conditioner. Check under my DIY menu at the top of the page for recipes *-*

    • MsAidyl says:

      Thanks a lot for the detailed info love. My hair definitely needs the moisture. I guess deep conditioning while watching movies is on my weekend relaxation list 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

