DIY: Scalp Treatments

Scalp TreatmentsI have been natural for 1 yr 5 months now and not once have I stopped to consider my scalp. I mean, I exfoliate my face twice a week and my body once a week or once every other week. Why have I not shown my scalp the same love and attention as it pertains to exfoliating?

I just came across this image via Pintrest and decided to look at the benefits of exfoliating the scalp at regular intervals. Here’s the down low on this extra step in your hair regimen; extra but by all means beneficial *-*

Info via Curly Nikki

It may seem obvious that healthy hair starts with a healthy scalp. But as many of us now shampoo less frequently to avoid drying out our hair, that translates to serious buildup of oil and dirt. Just like you exfoliate your skin to remove these from your pores, you should be doing the same for your scalp. After all, it’s the scalp that provides all the necessary nutrients to the hair root to make your hair more healthy and strong. So let’s give it some TLC!

The purpose for exfoliating your scalp isthe same as exfoliating your face, which is to remove the dead cells, which tend to accumulate and cause problems. The funny part, is that the most common reason behind dead skin and gunk on the scalp is the use of products which supposedly are used for boosting good hair health! Usage of hair gels, and not thoroughly rinsing away shampoo and that delicious deep conditioner, can all result in the accumulation of left over sediment on the scalp. This can create problems like itchiness, dandruff, flakiness, and dryness; which ultimately results in preventing the hair from receiving proper nourishment for continued hair growth. Gently exfoliating your scalp can also increase circulation to the hair follicles which will definitely prove to be beneficial for healthy hair growth. The process is very simple and can be done before, during, or after you shampoo or condition your hair.

It is very easy to create your own scalp scrub. The most popular DIY recipe is the brown sugar scalp scrub (look for fine granules!) but there are other DIY recipes as well as noted in the photo above.

On the market, there are scalp exfoliating treatments and scalp exfoliators such as-

  1. Carols Daughter Scalp Exfoliating Treatment
  2. My Honey Child’s Honey Bee Sweet Scalp Exfoliater
  3. Organic Root Stimulator Scalp Scrub
  4. Jane Carter Scalp Renew

Keep in mind that when you do exfoliate your scalp, that it must be done gently. Whether you are using a store brought scalp scrub or using a DIY mix, you can cause tears and damage to the scalp when you scrub aggressively or roughly with fingernails. Always scrub gently with the pads of your fingertips.

If you don’t shampoo frequently or have oily hair, exfoliate every other week. Otherwise, you just need to do it once a month to maintain a healthy scalp.

Do you exfoliate your scalp? If so, do you use a store bought scalp scrub or do you prefer to create your own?

8 Comments

  1. This was very helpful! I’ve been natural for 3 years and never regularly massage my scalp, let alone exfoliate it! I’ll try the sugar and oil one soon. Thanks for sharing!

    1. I know, right? Definitely will be doing the sugar and oil scrub when I take down my current protective style (fresh set of Havana twists – my fav) Let me know how it works for you!

    1. Hellooooo 🙂 I just decided to give up length checking. I gave up Hairfinity. I’m just focusing on healthy hair right now so other than anything you see in my pictures, I don’t have anything more to report. I have always said that I have a really slow growth rate so constantly length checking was putting a damper on my mood. So, I finally came to the conclusion to just STOP! 😀 I see you have had fantastic growth since I last checked out your page. CONGRATS!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

