TWA Style #9 – The Oblong High Bun

DSC_1685_4

Hey Curlies! I have in the past pulled my hair into a high bun; but that feat left my scalp feeling the tension of pulling hair not quite long enough to meet – together. I rather not endanger my edges that way anymore but I still love the look of a high bun. So what’s a girl to do? Well, I divided that sucker into two high ponytails and joined them – that’s what! *-*

By parting my hair in two horizontally, I have reduced the stress on my hair to come together. My edges feels so much more relaxed and I don’t have to worry about damage.

Here’s what I did:

  1. Divide hair in two horizontally
  2. Brush hair into two ponytails
  3. Smooth on a bit of gel to ensure hair lays flat
  4. Tie with satin scarf for 10 – 15 minutes (go shower, fix face etc)
  5. Grab hair extension – I use my fav – marley hair. Knot a section of marley braids around each ponytail (I used 10 strands each – you can use less because my strands are quite thin)
  6. Take a smaller section of marley braids (3 – 5 strands) and knot around both ponytails in an effort to join
  7. Take another small section of marley braids (3 – 5 strands) and knot around both ponytails in the opposite direction (if the knot for the first ponytail tied in the front, then the second should tie at the back)
  8. Now wrap marley hair around ponytails into an oblong bun and pin as necessary
  9. Don’t forget to lay those edges down so, if necessary, apply a bit more gel to your edges and tie again with scarf for a few minutes
  10. Voila! A beautiful oblong bun!

The horizontal line will be visible but, really, who cares, eh?

I’m loving my high bun!

I have been forced to find new ways to style my TWA as my hair has refused to hold any definition from a twist or braid out. I think the change in my hair started when I began using the GNC hair vitamins. I will twist my hair at nights and after untwisting in the mornings, my hair is completely without definition – with or without gel used.

I’m not so sure what I can do to “fix” this. I will try a protein treatment this weekend to see if that helps. DO share your suggestions if you have experienced this in the past as I do love a mean twist out 😦

Until next time, enjoy xx

10 thoughts on “TWA Style #9 – The Oblong High Bun

  1. Annette Fisher says:

    My hair doesn’t keep definition with gels creams or leave in conditioner. If I want some curl definition from a Bantu knot, twists or braids I use only grapeseed oil on wet or damp hair and either braid, twist or Bantu knot. I let it dry naturally over 24 to 48 hrs. When completely dry and is undone I have definition that lasts at least a day or two even.

    • BlackZulu says:

      Oh wow re products. I did not have this problem before. I was always able to get definition (tho they didn’t last long because I refuse to use gel nor cld I leave them for more than a day due to the dry nature of my hair) but now – nothing. I can’t even say I will try minus the products. I have to moisturize my hair – its too dry otherwise 😦 Oh well. Time will tell 😀 Thanks for stopping by hun x

  2. Monique says:

    OMG… I’m so happy I landed on your site (already bookmarked it)! It’s been so hard to find a website that features Black women with natural 4C hair. The styles you have are beautiful! I can’t wait to try this one when I take out my Havana Twists!

    My hair holds definition okay… I usually do Bantu knots after washing, keep them in for a week, take em out and I have a nice curly style with definition for 3-4 days after that.

    If I want REAL definition, I use a product called Kinky Curly (the conditioner and the gel after washing) … Such an amazing product!

    • BlackZulu says:

      Happy to have you Monique! And I absolutely agree re hard to find 4C hair texture blogs. DO let me know how this style works out for you *-*

      I cannot keep my twists in for an entire week. My hair will be bone dry long before then! lol

      I have heard of the greatness of the Kinky Curly line but the cost is just wayyyyyy too much once converted. I’ve given up on definition now. I did a protein treatment and colored my hair black on the weekend and still nothing. I’m going into lazy mode from today. No twists at night now unless I need the stretch for bunning. Just going to wear my shrunken up afro from now on 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

