TWA Style #11 – Roll & Pin (To Your Heart’s Content!)

Roll_2

Hey Curlies! I spent the entire week doing roll and pins in my hair. Not only is it a very quick and simple style; it also protects your ends as they are safely tucked away from the elements. Every day I simply let my hands roam free and whatever I came up with, I stuck with.

The only problem I have with rolls is that one hair pin that decides it wants to rage war with your scalp and you have to weed it out and reposition it 😀

What I do love about the style is the fact that I do not need to use any gel! I simply gel my edges for a sleek look and that’s it. Love love loveeeeee!

Rolls can last up to 1# week once you do proper bedtime practices. I generally keep mine 1# or 2# days (I kept the first roll I did in my previous post for 4# days!) but the hair pins tend to irritate me so I just take ’em down and do it all over again in the morning – which I am very happy to do.

Here are the other 2# rolls I did this week.

Roll_1

Full Circle Roll and Pin

Roll_3

Apologies for the poor lighting. Photos taken early evening 😦

If I am keeping my roll longer than a day, then in the morning I will mist my hair lightly with my Taliah Waajid Mist Bodifer (or DIY Hair mist) to add a little moisture. I will also run a bit of castor oil through any parts in my hair. To finish, I reapply a touch of gel to my edges and wrap with scarf for a few minutes and I am ready to go again.

Happy rolling Lovelies xo

PS – remember when it comes to natural hair – every spoil is a style! So if your hair doesn’t turn out the exact way you envisioned, don’t worry. Only you will know 😉

PPS – marley braids used under roll to get shape #fakeittillyoumakeit

11 thoughts on “TWA Style #11 – Roll & Pin (To Your Heart’s Content!)

  1. salomey kwaw says:

    u really saved from wearing a wig this week…tried one of ur styles and its combo. oops..sori i dont ve a pics yet to upload

  2. irene says:

    you didnt explain how you achieved the look with your twa? i have hair that is exactly like yours and i have been so scared to wear my hair out as the last few times i did it, i didnt get good responses from colleagues and friends but i like this style and dont know how to achieve it even with the marley braids. Please put up a video or pictures of how you achieved the style so i can replicate it. thanks

    • BlackZulu says:

      Its always sad to hear that your choice to wear your hair natural is not well received amongst your peers. Despite that, you need to carry your look with confidence and others will respect and accept your natural hair.
      I do not have photos of me completing the styles; I’m so sorry. The styles are very easy to replicate from just looking once you have a knack for styling your own hair. Try YouTube for tuck and roll styles and see what u come up with. Good luck!!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

