My ‘Fro

My Fro

I took this photo about a week ago on the last day of my mini twist out (rocked it for a full 7 days! Woot woot) *-*Β  I posted it to my FB page and used as my Whatsapp profile pic…and interestingly, I got a lot of “why so serious?”, “you can’t smile?” and “smile” comments.

Something must be wrong with me because I look at this picture and see a beauty that requires no showing of teeth. I see a reliance in my face that says I’m content with ME. I see strength. I see me.

This picture reminded me of a short poem I wrote many years ago:

BLACK

It is more than a skin color –

it is a way of life,

an art form,

a nation,

a people,

ME.

Have a fantastic weekend, Curlies xoxo

29 Comments

  1. That hair,those lips…that skin! Oh My!! You are too beautiful for words! Perfection! A+ in my book! You look like an African goddess. I wish I could hit the “like” button 100 times. πŸ™‚

    1. It is funny because I am not one that does the big smile with teeth showing and always get asked (by people who don’t know me) why so serious. I am a happy person and people who know me know I am happy…from the inside and out, even if I am not “showing the world” my teeth. I think you look absolutely GORGEOUS!

    2. Yeah I know what you mean. Truly beautiful women don’t have to necessarily smile for their beauty to shine. But I do think this woman is a natural beauty. There’s no hiding it when you look this good.lol

    3. Kushite, you are wayyyy too kind…but I’ll take it! πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for that little boost of confidence xo

      @ Mia, I cannot imagine being asked that question often. It would grind my nerves but you sound like you got this! Stay beautiful. Stay happy xx

  2. The first thing I thought when I saw this was…. “this woman is regally beautiful”. Naaah being this beautiful is just disrespectful.

    1. Akinyi, thanks so much for the smile πŸ™‚ You reminded me of a line Will Smith used in the Fresh Price of Bel Air TV show, “its gotta be a sin to look this good” (I think he was talking to his reflection tho lol)
      Stay blessed xx

  3. I loooooove this pic, it’s so beautiful I’m so glad you weren’t shaken by the comments of your fb friends and you chose to share this pic with us. I also love your poem, I think it is profound. I’m re-blogging this ❀

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

