Crochet Marley Braids – Install II

IMG_20141103_200943

Crochet Marley Braids

I spent 3# weeks with my second install of crochet marley braids and for the most part, we had a fantastic time! I enjoyed not having to twist in my hair every night before bed the most. However, I did not enjoy having to braid and re-dip my marley hair in hot water twice a week. Grrrrrrr. This hair frays like nobody’s business (once you have to separate the curls) but overall, it is still a pretty awesome style.

For this install, I cut the marley braids in 3# instead of 2# because I wanted a short style. I used 2# full packs of hair.Β Even though I cut the hair in 3#, I still pinned up the back with hairpins so that the hair did not touch my neck at all (for the most part). I didn’t do anything special this time around either so you can check out my earlier crochet braids post for more details.

Here is how the hair looked freshly installed with no manipulation:

Before

I absolutely love the look of this…except when you check it out from the sides :-/

Before_1

Yeah, that sucker is WILD! It would need some serious trimming which I cannot do myself. Not to mention it blows every which way in the wind. So nope. I opted to curl this baby πŸ™‚

After separating the curls, I ended up with this. Remember I used hair pins to keep the hair high up off my neck.

Curled_after

When the hair was all frayed out, I wrapped it up as per my previous photo post πŸ™‚

Wrapped

This looks FABULOUS from the side…it was wayyyy too much hair from the front but I rocked it any ways πŸ™‚

I tried doing 2 twists down the sides in front and pinned the hair under at the back. Insert curly baby hair courtesy a 3-minute relaxer on my edges #don’tjudgeme

Front Twists

When re-curling, I did 2-strand twists and wrapped them on flexi rods and this is what I got. In green, was them fresh off the rods and in yellow I pinned them up off my neck πŸ™‚

I did my hair with a side part and an optional center part and here is it on the center part. I never thought a center part fitted my face…but this is not bad at all πŸ™‚

Center Path_2

My hair was dipped in hot water the day before – can you see how frizzy it was already? (I do sleep with a satin bonnet every night – the frizz really comes from separating the curls)

Center-Side Path

Been trying to figure out which looks better – center or side part…. Hmmmmm. What do you think, ladies?

Anyways, it was a blast but all good things must come to an end so I waved goodbye to my protective style after 3# weeks.

Lastday

#nomakeupface

I love crochet braids as a protective style, but the next install will be with curly hair so that I can avoid the maintenance issues that comes along with using marley hair.

Have you tried crochet braiding? What hair did you use? Please do share!

14 thoughts on “Crochet Marley Braids – Install II

  1. BlaqueCat says:

    This hairstyle looks amazing you! I’m actually a fan of the wild look… Lol. I’ve done crochet braids before, but I used Finger Comber (Havana Twist) hair. This has been the ONLY hair I’ve used in the past two years because of its longevity (I can usually use each pack 2-3 times before I discard it. It’s washable and blends in so nicely with my natural 4c hair. I don’t think I’d have the patience to do it as small as you did though… Lol. Mine were more spaced apart.

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thanks luv. I would order the Fingercomber hair, but its going to be toooo expensive by the time it gets to me (adding duties etc) The Havana hair looks much softer and easier to manage than marley. I did write to them on FB asking them to consider some of the other already curled hair that they have as weave to make them into braids because crochet braiding is the rave. They said they would consider it.
      Marley can also be re-used numerous times – just rinse, dry and re-use πŸ™‚ I do not reuse because it would be torture to take them one by one because they are done small so I cut and go.
      Thanks so much for commenting on my page. Stay blessed x

  2. Chari T says:

    love the side part! contemplating removing my crochet braids cause i miss my own hair so badly! have you ever tried the cold wave rods? those give some awesome curls that last a bit longer.

    • BlackZulu says:

      I’ve seen your curls…and admired but I tried them on my sister’s crochet braids and it was a fail so I skipped trying them on myself. The time and patience it takes is just too much!

      *smiles @ side part*

  3. gaye says:

    if I just loose the twist without removing it from my head
    can I do it directly by washing,den rolling will it come out well

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

