Protective Styling: Crochet Braids – Install III

Crochet_collage

Hello Curlies! I don’t want to jinx myself claiming a protective style challenge but I am on a mission to keep my hair protected for as long as possible to increase their chance at retaining length. I am approaching 2 years in 4 months so it would be great to see some actual lengths at that time 😀 My general go to style is a little ‘fro which leaves my hair completely exposed to the elements so these protective styles are bound to come in pretty handy till then.

Like I mentioned before, I love crochet braiding. Its easy to install, doesn’t take too long to do and its easy on the scalp. I switched up my regular crochet braiding hair (marley braids) and went for the Realistic brand of Jerry Curl Braiding Hair. I cut the hair in 3# to achieve a short length (no hair on neck for me in this Caribbean heat!) I did not install this hair myself but opted to let a friend do it at a super discounted rate of EC$60.00 ($90.00 regular). So overall, this style cost me EC$120.00 as the braids were EC$30.00 a pack.

I’m hoping to keep this hair for at least 3 weeks again; cross my fingers for 4. But we’ll see how this hair fares. I would love to get my hand on some braiding hair that are more of a kinkier texture that already has some form of definition to it like the Finger Comber Kinky Comber Wefted hair (but in braid format). If you know if anything similar, please do share!

I had 2# people (1# male and 1# female) thinking it was my real hair…which was odd because they saw me just 1 day ago with my actual hair. They just crazy! 😀

Anyways, have an amazing weekend Curlies! Stay beautiful. Say blessed xo

PS – I don’t know why but I feel like a “sell out” with this hair. The marley hair never bothered me but last night I felt like I’ve gone back to being one of those ppl who wears a weave all the time 😦  I have to remind myself that its a process – this months long protective styling thing 😀

PPS – I’ve printed this article to read later tonight entitled “Why BLACK MEN are not attracted to NAPPY HAIR Black Women”. If it proves interesting, I will share with you guys next week so we can have a discussion *-*

7 thoughts on “Protective Styling: Crochet Braids – Install III

  1. BlaqueCat says:

    Beautiful photos! I wish I knew how to cornrow, otherwise I’d be doing crochet braids more often. 😦
    LOL… I’ve had people repeatedly ask if I cut my hair every time I change the style (I even got “wow! you’re hair grew so long so quickly!”). When I’m wearing it in a ‘fro, it’s a surprise when I show them an example of the length just by pulling on a strand. Shrinkage!

    • BlackZulu says:

      Practice those cornrows, sista! Because as ugly or crooked as you can manage – no one will ever know since crochet braiding covers them up! 😀

      That pull strand catches them every time 🙂

  2. Elo says:

    Could you do videos please ? I’ve been natural for 9 years now but 8 years with locs so I don’t know how to braid, flat twists, do cornrows etc. It would be great if you could explain. Thx in advance.

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      Oh, Elo. I leave vlogging to those who know what they’re doing! I have to take my own photos for this blog (notice you only ever see head shots?)
      There are hundreds of tutorials already on YouTube that can teach you to do any style you require to learn. Search them out.
      Sorry I wasn’t more helpful but thanks for stopping by my page. Always a pleasure to have new readers who leave comments 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

