2014: Hair in Review

New Year's Eve Hairstyle

New Year’s Eve Hairstyle

2014 was a truly FANTASTIC year for my hair! I can’t say how much I’ve learnt to love my hair, its texture and every aspect that makes it mine. As I look back at my year in hair, I see the joy at experiencing growth, I see the struggles when I encounter difficulties but I also see the triumph when I have major accomplishments.

Last year, some of my proudest moments were:

  • I had some amazing twist outs early 2014
  • I tried finger coils TWICE
  • I had cornrows installed – stylishly
  • I started and completed the Castor Oil Challenge
  • I learnt to install havana twists
  • I achieved my first high bun
  • I experimented with tuck, roll & pin styles
  • I did an extraordinary amount of protective styles

I also had a few regrets and the worst of which were:

  • I experimented with hair growth vitamins; which may have caused…
  • My hair texture changed. No more chunky/flat twist outs 😦

Going into 2015, I am officially in the in-between stage where my hair is too long to just “leave it and go” but not long enough to achieve more advanced styles. However, I still plan on doing mainly updos this year. I will either continue to part my hair two horizontally and pull into two high ponytails to form my bun or do a kinky blow out so that my hair stretches enough to pull into a single ponytail without stressing my edges. I’ve purchased 2# packs of marley braids to form my updos so I am truly excited for 2015.

Thank you so much for being a part of my journey. Thank you for your compliments, your tips, your advice and your love all around. May your 2015 be as bright and beautiful as you are!

Here is a quick round up of my pics for 2014.

Here are a few quick photos from my New Year’s Eve night with my best friends and sister. I was too rushed to stop and take photos of my hair but thats what 2015 blogging is for *-*

19 thoughts on “2014: Hair in Review

  1. Kushite Prince says:

    Talk about beauty overload!lol Looking at al these pics shows how beautiful you truly are Nekisha. I really enjoy your blog. I know your blog followers appreciate all your hair tips and advice.Your blog is one of my favorites. I love checking out all your new pics you put up. Your bright smile and cheerful attitude always uplift my spirits. You had a great 2014 but I think your 2015 will be even bigger.
    A new year is like a blank book. The pen is in your hands. It is your chance to write a beautiful story for yourself. Happy New Year to the hottest woman in the blogosphere. Your #1 fan,KP 🙂

  2. maicurls says:

    Happy New Year love! Look at all those gorgeous pictures!!! 😀 (I might have to copy your idea;) ) I hope you have a fantastic year ahead and that 2015 is another amazing year for you.

  3. ndasheryl says:

    You are great and I love you for that. You inspire me a lot. You rock our natural world. Thanks for the giving more inspiration months after month.

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words. Absolutely appreciated! I’m very happy to have inspired you throughout the year and hope you stick around for 2015 *-*
      Big hug x

  4. Art Becomes You says:

    Help me lawd! what a stunning lady you are. with a beautiful smile. All this black goodness in one post. That white dress pic is adorbs. I can’t wait to take off my weave now. haha. So many styles to nick, lol. How can you do SO MUCH? with your length? I ran out of styles to try and gave up. Honey this is amazing. wish you the best for 2015!

    • BlackZulu says:

      Thanks so much! Honestly, if I did not have this blog I probably would have given up a long time too (in terms of styling). But where there is a will, there is a way 🙂
      Hoping you do try a few more styles with your hair this year. Don’t let length hinder you, hun.
      Stay beautiful x

  5. eyikieni says:

    Amazing pictures. Love how you styled your hair. Im in the in between stage with pretty much not of a regimen. I hope to have some rhythm with my hair care this year.

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      Thank you, hun! This in-between stage is now getting the best of me but I’m pressing on 🙂 Good luck with formulating a regimen this year 🙂 But remember, don’t the sweat the small stuff!

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

