‘Fro Love

DSC_1744_4

2015 has been a long and lonely road for my hair. We spent the year in high buns and 1# set of kinky sew-in wefted hair both of which depleted the few hair I had at my temple. As I enter #missionregrowth I had to make the choice to just let my hair strive!

And when I say strive I mean letting my hair shrink up down in all its beautiful kinky coily glory! It’s all about the fro for the next few months as I try out the ORS Fertilizing Temple Balm. I am applying the balm to the entire front portion of my hairline and then touching it with a few drops of rosemary essential oil on my fingertips at the temples when massaging in the balm. 

Afro

DSC_1746_4

This fro enables me to eliminate any tension on my hairline during this recovery process. I stick a couple of hair pins on each side to the fro a slightly tapered look (seen from the front).

I’ve been asked a couple times if I have cut my hair or how I am able to pull my hair into a bun with such short hair. No, my hair has not been cut and here’s how I achieve a high bun. BAM! 6″ of growth over the past 2.5 years.

Kinky Blow Out

I’m actually really loving this look and its the easiest thing ever! No gel necessary now. My wash days has just become even shorter and styling that much easier! #love it.

I’m contemplating cutting it in a clean tapered look for my 30th in April – we will see!

Continue to enjoy your day, Curlies! Blessings x

DSC_1750_4

12 thoughts on “‘Fro Love

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      I have used JBCO religiously for almost 2 years now and while it certainly moisturizes and helps keep in that moisture, I have not seen any improvement on my hairline. Will keep as part of my hair regimen as I do love it! But for the hairline, I’m about to order some Emu Oil to try out.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Oluchee says:

    I really do detest having to comb out my hair so often. Doesn’t Fro-ing require combing out? Ugh i know I’m not sposed to love shrinkage that way, but your hair looks real good on that fro

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      Thanks Oluchee. There is a combed out Afro and there is a textured Afro. Im rocking a textured Afro which I personally prefer as it gives it interest. No combing. Just palm rolling to help my coils “pop”. No gel either, just water, moisturizer and a bit of castor oil. I love it too!!

  2. c4crowned says:

    I’m so afraid of letting my hair shrink because my mum keeps reprimanding it. Also, my hair gets so hard when it shrinks and I’m afraid it’s lack of moisture (+that just makes me thinks damage). How do you cope?

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      I actually love my shrinkage! I have accepted a few facts about my hair, namely:
      1/ I have thin/sparse hair. The only time my hair looks thick is when its all shunken down. If I do a twist out which stretches the hair out then I end up with scanty looking thin hair
      2/ I’ve accepted the fact that I do NOT have “growing” hair. I have had my hair now for 30 years and while I didn’t take optimum care of it all that time like I do now, I have seen that it just doesn’t grow very fact (if at all – hahaha)
      3/ Knowing that my hair isn’t going to get much longer, I don’t hassle myself with ‘single strand knots’ and the like. I simply just burst any tangles off the ends!!
      I am planning to taper my edges and back for my 30th birthday in a month and am looking forward to it 🙂

      Sorry to hear that your Mom is not supportive of your hair. I still get that from ppl I know and even those I’m only acquainted with (not even friends) and I just let it slide right off my shoulder because I’ve grown so confident as a person and my self esteem has sky rocketed. You will get there yourself too and you will not allow anyone to negatively impact you in regards to your hair. Happy journeying to that point! xx

      PS – if your hair is hard when it shrinks then it means you simply need to review your moisturizing technique for your ‘fro. You hair will naturally lose moisture more quickly when left out than when styled because of the elements. I have perfected my technique. I get quite a few ppl who randomly touch my hair and pull their hand back in shock. They say, it looks hard but its not. Ha! I swear by Castor Oil and Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie. Oh, coconut milk in your deep conditioner helps soften hair 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

