Tags

, , ,

DSC_3360_2

Meet Rokira – my 2 year old second cousin. Isn’t she just a little cutie? *-*

My Aunt started bringing her to church with us for the past 2 weeks. Last week, she rocked a fierce braid out with the cutest little bandeau around her head. I thought she looked the bee’s knees. Shockingly, when we got to church, one member looked at her head and asked, “Are you nah see da likkle gyal head want comb?” (Antiguan dialect)  In standard English, he asked, “Don’t you all see that the little girl’s hair needs combing?” (I did not have my camera with me last week but this Sabbath I did and snapped these shots of her hair)

The audacity!

When will such mindset / mentality / closed-mindedness / black hate cease? When? 

My Aunt started making excuses that the child’s Mom did not have the time to plait her hair. SMH. I later asked the Mom if this was the case and she said that she, who is also natural, carried her hair in the same manner so her daughter carries the same. Granted, truth be told, the Mom was not blessed with the art of plaiting. But that’s besides the point.

Naturally, I got very indignant with the guy who made the remark and went on a mini tyrant of how we need to learn to love and accept our natural hair. I made the comparison of how we look at a Caucasian or mixed child with naturally curly hair and oohhh and ahhhh over their hair when they simply get out the shower, towel dry and go. Their natural curly poof does not incite the same remarks of needing to comb or plait. My sister responded that those kids have “much better hair than us.”

How much longer will we oppress our kids when it comes to their hair?

The back of her hair had less definition than the front but why should we only love our hair with definition and not in a straight afro puff, right?

I have always said, and will continue to say that WE are the reason why we do not love our natural hair. Are we not tired of seeing toddlers with already receding hairlines from the cornrows we constantly plait their hair in? Are we not saddened by the sight of toddlers with relaxed hair? Or toddlers with braid extensions?

I say, LET THEIR HAIR STRIVE! Teach them to love the beauty and versatility of their natural hair by giving them varying hairstyles that are age appropriate – not just bubbles and uninteresting cornrows.

I’ve asked many persons what styles they can remember their hair being in growing up and 90% respond with – cornrows. That’s it. Its no wonder they are so eager to get a bottle of relaxer in their hair as soon as they become of age.

May we be the change that is needed for our kids. May we develop a love for our own hair and pass that on to our daughters. May we empower them with self love from the crown of their heads to the tips of their toes.

Be blessed xx

