African Black Soap: Product Review

black-soap-bars

Hi Curlies! I should probably say Happy New Year, Happy Birthday, Happy Easter, Happy Holidays, Happy everything!!!! for how long I’ve been gone. *hides face* However, I am content that my page is a source of information even if it is no longer documenting my hair journey.

Today, I wanted to come in and do a post on one of my favorite soaps which I have mentioned time and time again in various posts but have never given it its own space. Its high time that I talk about the ever popular African Black Soap and the sheer awesomeness of it!

African Black Soap: The Details

All natural African black soap is made from dried plantain skins, palm leaves, cocoa pod powder, and palm kernel oil for an all-natural cleansing process. Many recipes also include shea butter made from the nuts of the Karite tree. Plantains skins are largely what make this black soap so effective. They are a natural source of vitamins A & E and iron. 
When black soap is made, the skin of the plantain is dried under the sun and then roasted in a clay oven. The heat must be constant in order to achieve the perfect brownish black color, texture & smell. Afterward, cocoa pod powder is added. Cocoa pod is the shell of the cocoa fruit and also has natural healing properties.
The next part of the black soap making process is very precise. The roasted plantain skins are mixed with palm and palm kernel oil to form the soap. The length and temperature at which the plantains are roasted determines the color of the soap. The longer the plantains are roasted, the darker the black soap will become when finished. The mixture is stirred for at least a day and then usually put in molds to cure for two weeks or more.

African black soap is soft with an organic shape. It has a delicate texture and a natural, earthy smell. It is not oily, and can be used for hands, face, body and hair. It is most commonly found in Ghana, however other countries have their versions of black soap as well.

Benefits

Black soap has long been used throughout Africa to treat eczema, acne, freckles, dark spots, and fine lines. Black soap is gentle and nourishing which makes it perfect for use on babies’ sensitive skin, or anyone for that matter. Black soap is rich in vitamin A, which increases collagen production, and vitamin E, which heals and moisturizes the skin. The cocoa pod powder used in black soap is full of antioxidants and anti-inflammatory properties that work to heal acne, reduce swelling, and give you clearer skin. The Shea butter in black soap helps to soothe and soften your skin; keeping it younger-looking and smooth and supple.

Source: http://africaimports.com/black_soap_article.asp 

I purchase my soap from Bush Beauty Body Brand which sells the authentic black soap straight from Ghana. You absolutely cannot beat the price and the quality!

Bush Beauty

I use this soap in the following manners:

  • Natural Shampoo
  • Skin cleanser (no more than twice or 3 times a week max!)
  • Shaving “cream”
  • Acne / Pimples treatment

As a shampoo, it gets my hair clean without stripping it of all its natural oils; and that is priceless to me. I cannot see me using conventional sulfate-free shampoo ever again. If you want super clean hair without the dryness, grab a bar of this soap!

As a skin cleanser, it takes everything off my face. Leaves no residue of my makeup or dirt and grim from the long day. However, I made the mistake of using this soap twice a day every day which I have now contributed to the reason I have dry skin prone to wrinkles (at just 30!!) around my eyes. I am so working on correcting this!

I now use the soap as recommended by Shemme Stevens of Bush Beauty Brands- only twice a week or 3# times if you have oily skin. For days when I want a deep clean, I will use my DIY Sugar Scrub with the soap suds still on my face to really get a real deep clean.

As a shaving cream, I simply bathe with the soap creating lots of lather and grab my razor and go. It works splendidly so no more commercial shaving cream for me! Goodbye Nair!

As an acne treatment, I simple rub the soap over the affected area at night and let dry. Then sleep with it. This helps dry up the pimple and I’m usually better by the next day (this would be a pimple I would have burst using my extraction tool – not my fingers!)

 

Shemmee_cropped

Shemme Stevens, Bush Beauty Body Brand Owner

This post was not solicited by Bush Beauty Body Brand. I have used her products for years and love them! Bush Beauty Body products are handmade in New York and available in New York, Antigua, and other islands in the Caribbean.

You can catch Shemme Stevens on the following handles:

FB: facebook.com/bushbeautybrand

Instagram: @bushbeautybrand

#supportblackbusinesses #supporthandmade #supportblackwomen #supportgreatdarnproducts

 

5 thoughts on “African Black Soap: Product Review

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      Hi Mae! Thanks for reading. I love this soap. It is #boss at cleansing hair. I use it to bathe a few times a week too.
      Its for sure going to be a lifetime staple for me.

      Happy hair days x

    • Nekisha CD Lewis says:

      Hi doll. They actually sell it as a liquid here too but the bar works just as fine for me! When I shampoo, I literally either lather it in my hands or lightly rub it on my hair because it lathers so much so easily. No need to liquidize 🙂

      Have you used it before? If not, what are you waiting for? 😀

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

