Fro-sessed | Hair Update 2016

fro-sessed [verb] – to be totally obsessed with your afro

Hi Curlies! This has been a long time coming. Allow me to introduce to you, #patsy. #patsy is what I call my beautifully coiled, shrunken up down afro which is ode to Lupida’s amazing performance in the movie 12 Years A Slave as the character Patsy. #patsy is 3 years old with no cuts during that time (besides irregular trimming). I don’t have growing hair. I have fully accepted that fact.

I have spent the start of the year allowing my hair to breathe, as I put it, and allowing her to coil up and be glorious.  This is in an attempt to not stress my edges as I make attempts to regrow them. Unfortunately, I developed a bad knack of toying with my hair (I mean, who can resist those coils?!) and I end up snapping off the tangled ends 😦  And those ends are quite a few inches in length! Because of this, I am now trying to do more protective styling to refrain from snapping all my hair off!

Here is what my hair looks like with a quick kinky blow out post wash. I think they are about 6″ long still; but they are sparse (hence the hand behind hair – haha – to hide the fact that you can see straight through).

I remain convinced that my hair has reached its usual plateau and will unlikely grow any longer so I am now more concerned with repairing my edges and retaining the length that I do have than trying to grow them longer.

In my next post I’ll share the cheap and simple yet effective products I now use to take care of #patsy.

Happy hair days dolls!

4 thoughts on “Fro-sessed | Hair Update 2016

  1. Yadeï says:

    I enjoyed reading this! Love your honesty and sense of humor. I think we have the same hair type. I don’t know much about the 4a, b, c kinds but the see through is so like mine lol. It grows but just doesn’t fill up. There are so many hairstyles I’m still afraid to do.

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

