Tags

, , ,

I can’t begin to tell you Curlies how #awesome it feels to be able to do so little to my hair and yet keep it soft, moisturized, healthy and happy!

Here’s a quick run down of my current wash cycle and the products that I have developed a love for. I have linked where I purchase my products for the best prices!

Cleansing

Cleansing my hair (shampooing) has been won over by the African Black Soap by Bush Beauty Body Brand. This soap is all levels of awesome and cleanses without completely stripping my hair or all its natural oils. Traditional shampoo is out! Sulfate-free shampoo is no more! All hail the African Black Soap 😀

I don’t even bother with the pre-poos anymore. No time. No patience. But if you find that your hair needs the extra care, please do give it a try or continue to do so if you already do.

Products Used: African Black Soap 

Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse

I have taken to pouring a small mug of water with ACV over my hair after cleansing. There are many good things being said of the ACV rinse which you can read about in this article by fellow natural hair blogger Mia Curls.

I swear my coils pop when I use this rinse. I simply pour, massage my scalp and let sit a minute or 2 before applying my conditioner (notice, I do not rinse it out before conditioning – not sure what sense or good that would make anyways) 

Products Used: Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar (not the 5% ones you use to clean chicken with!)

Deep Conditioning

After my ACV rinse, I deep condition. My 4C hair drinks moisture so I always deep condish after every cleanse. I have fallen in love with the Aussie Moist Conditioner which is the best cheapie conditioner I have come across – US$5.97 on Walmart for a pump bottle! I mix this conditioner with my ever faithful coconut milk, honey and olive oil and apply to my hair. I allow this to sit for a few minutes with a plastic cap (insert grocery bag here). For days I feel like it, I sit under my heat cap for 15 – 20 minutes before rinsing out.

I sometimes switch the Aussie Moist Conditioner for the Aussie Moist 3-Minute Miracle Deeep Conditioner which is perfectly fine on its own – I just like the extra goodness of coconut milk and honey!

This 3-Minute Miracle softens my hair on impact and I love it for that. Again, it is soooo cheap – US$2.97 at Walmart. You simply cannot go wrong for that price.

Products Used: Aussie Moist Conditioner, Aussie Moist 3-Minute Miracle Deeep Conditioner, Coconut Milk, Pure Local Honey, Olive Oil

Moisturizing

No wash cycle is complete without moisturizing. LOC is still the method I use to moisturize starting by patting dry my hair to remove all the hard water (or as much as possible). For my liquid, I use Taliah Waajid Mist Bodifier and then apply my Giovanni Direct Moisture Leave-In Conditioner (I haven’t made my ever faithful Kimmay-Tube leave-in conditioner in ages *gasp*) so I apply the Giovanni direct to my hair.

I then seal my ends with JBCO or whipped shea butter before finally applying my Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie to my hair.

Products Used: Taliah Waajid Protective Mist Bodifier, Giovanni Direct Leave-In Conditioner, JBCO, Whipped Shea Butter, Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie (16 oz – best price EVER!)

Styling

When I am rocking my shrunken afro, I do not use a comb in my hair through the entire process. I finger detangle when I apply my deep conditioner to my hair in sections. When I am moisturizing, I again refrain from combing and try not to stretch my hair out too much when applying the products.

My hair is sparse / thin so when stretched they look whispy / airy hence my allowing them to shrink down / coil up which gives the appearance of a fuller head of hair. 

When I have other plans for my hair, I will finger detangle during the wash cycle and then use a wide tooth comb during the moisturizing process. “Other plans” usually requires my hair to be stretched out so I plait my hair in big single plaits as I moisturize and allow to air dry.

 

I love how simple my regimen has become! It is indeed a pleasure to wash my hair now that I know what products my hair likes and how to apply them. Once you know this, you too will find pleasure in taking care of your kinks, coils and locs. Check out my original wash cycle post from 2014 here.

For my Antiguan readers,  the majority of these items can be purchased from Kinks Coils & Locs in Cassada Gardens.  Find her on FB!

Do you use any of the products mentioned? What is your wash cycle like now as oppose to when you first started your journey?

Do you know where to get any of these products at better prices? Let us all know in the comments!

Until next time, happy hair day dolls! Stay beautiful x

